• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Double Fatal Overnight

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimmnn

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
14,327
Location
Colorado
JEFFERSON COUNTY - Two teenagers died and one was seriously injured Sunday evening after the truck they were driving in rolled over.

Police say a Ford Ranger traveling eastbound on C-470 ran off the right side of the road and rolled over one and a half times down an embankment.

The driver, a 16-year-old female, and a 15-year-old male passenger both died at the scene. The 16-year-old girl in the back of the truck was taken to Littleton Hospital with serious injuries.

The identities of the victims were not immediately released. The crash is under investigation.
 

fairrpe86

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Messages
89
The two victims that died were brother and sister that lived in the Highlands Ranch area.
 

Moosemedic

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
201
Location
Denver
Colorado Graduated Driver's License

As most people already know, teenagers are a high-risk group when it comes to driving. Statistics show that 25 percent of 16 year old drivers either receive a ticket or are involved in a traffic accident during their first year of driving. That is why, on July 1, 1999, Colorado joined other states in accepting a graduated driver’s license law. The law aims at reducing the number of vehicle-related death among teens by gradually introducing teenagers to driving. According to the law, a teenager is forced to go through stages before he or she can obtain a full driver’s license.
The graduated driver’s license law in Colorado closely resembles those in other states. A teenager who is trying to obtain a driver’s license is required to go through three stages:
  • Stage 1 – obtaining a learner’s driving permit
  • Stage 2 – obtaining a provisional license
  • Stage 3 – obtaining a full driver’s license
Teenagers in Colorado can obtain a driver’s permit when they reach the age of 15. In order to do so, they must present the proof that they are enrolled in a driver’s education course approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles. Teenage drivers who hold the learner’s permit are subject to the following restrictions:
  • The student may drive only while being accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older
  • The student must receive at least 50 hours of behind the wheel instruction. 10 of these must be done at nighttime.
  • The student may not drink and drive or drive while being under the influence
  • The student may not use a cell phone while driving
  • The student may not commit any traffic violations
If the student holds his or her learner’s permit for 12 months and meets all of the above conditions, he or she can apply for the road test and obtain a provisional driver’s license. The provisional driver’s license has the following restrictions:
  • No driving between midnight and 5 A.M.
  • For the first 6 months, the driver is not allowed to carry passengers under 21 (unless a licensed driver over 21 is present)
  • For the subsequent 6 months, only one passenger under 21 is allowed (unless a licensed driver over 21 is present)
  • Drivers under 17 are not allowed to carry more than one passenger in the car
  • All passengers should wear seatbelts
If the driver abides to the above rules, these restrictions are lifted when he reaches the age of 17 when he or she can obtain a full driver’s license.
 

cstockmyer

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
1,397
Moosemedic said:
Colorado Graduated Driver's License

As most people already know, teenagers are a high-risk group when it comes to driving. Statistics show that 25 percent of 16 year old drivers either receive a ticket or are involved in a traffic accident during their first year of driving. That is why, on July 1, 1999, Colorado joined other states in accepting a graduated driver’s license law. The law aims at reducing the number of vehicle-related death among teens by gradually introducing teenagers to driving. According to the law, a teenager is forced to go through stages before he or she can obtain a full driver’s license.
The graduated driver’s license law in Colorado closely resembles those in other states. A teenager who is trying to obtain a driver’s license is required to go through three stages:
  • Stage 1 – obtaining a learner’s driving permit
  • Stage 2 – obtaining a provisional license
  • Stage 3 – obtaining a full driver’s license
Teenagers in Colorado can obtain a driver’s permit when they reach the age of 15. In order to do so, they must present the proof that they are enrolled in a driver’s education course approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles. Teenage drivers who hold the learner’s permit are subject to the following restrictions:
  • The student may drive only while being accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older
  • The student must receive at least 50 hours of behind the wheel instruction. 10 of these must be done at nighttime.
  • The student may not drink and drive or drive while being under the influence
  • The student may not use a cell phone while driving
  • The student may not commit any traffic violations
If the student holds his or her learner’s permit for 12 months and meets all of the above conditions, he or she can apply for the road test and obtain a provisional driver’s license. The provisional driver’s license has the following restrictions:
  • No driving between midnight and 5 A.M.
  • For the first 6 months, the driver is not allowed to carry passengers under 21 (unless a licensed driver over 21 is present)
  • For the subsequent 6 months, only one passenger under 21 is allowed (unless a licensed driver over 21 is present)
  • Drivers under 17 are not allowed to carry more than one passenger in the car
  • All passengers should wear seatbelts
If the driver abides to the above rules, these restrictions are lifted when he reaches the age of 17 when he or she can obtain a full driver’s license.
It's nothing but hot air unless they make it PC to make a traffic stop, right now it's just like if you don't have a seat belt on, it's not cause to make a traffic stop.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top