Douglas County Area Frequencies

AWH4

Hello everyone. I am new to Colorado and just recently moved to Douglas County, Highlands Ranch / Lone Tree area. I have South Metro Fire Rescue, CSP, Life Flight, programmed into my Uniden SDS200. I was wondering what other frequency are in my area that other people are listening to ? Seeing that I am fairly new to the area, I am open to suggestions on what to program into my scanner. What are my interests ? I am open to all suggestions. People that have been scanning this area for years usually know what frequency to program and which ones that are not worth programming. I know listening to law enforcement is out because of “E”, so we don’t need to discuss that. I live in an apartment, so an outside antenna is not an option, so I know this is going to limit me. I am going to buy a 800 MHZ Remtronix 830B Base Antenna from Scanner Master soon. Hoping it might help me compared to the antenna that came with the SDS200. Good idea or not ? Better back of the set antenna suggestion ? Any suggestions on getting started on what to listen to for my area will be appreciated. Thanks for all suggestions and to all that reply.

KE0HIN

I myself think CDOT snow plow operations are interesting to hear ad all of section 5 for metro section 9 for I 70 also there are a few i70 tac channels you should find in either clear creek or Cdot /CSP or statewide.
Asfor an antenna yes anything is better thn wht came with the radio, are you using sentinel to program? we can share files

Spitfire8520

I might be completely clueless! =)
Colorado has some great radio propagation thanks to the geography which allows you to hear sites, systems, and talkgroups from the surrounding counties if you are interested in listening to the stuff happening elsewhere. If this interests you, then I would suggest expanding your programming to cover a wide area to test the limits of areas you can monitor from your place.