• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Downgrading M7100 from RPM to ProGrammer Feature Error 551

Status
Not open for further replies.

timkilbride

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
1,828
Location
Iowa County, Iowa
Going from RPM to ProGrammer I get ERR=0551. The radio is taking the feature string using ProGrammer the best I can tell. When I move the radio back to RPM from ProGrammer, everything works. Just curious why I'm getting the error when downgrading?

Thanks

Tim
 

snoopyII

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
293
Location
On the other side of the tracks
I don't have a service manual handy this exact moment to tell you what the error is, but first guess off the top of my head is incompatible radio code. The last code for ProGrammer is J2R11C02. The R11 part being the keyword. Anything greater than R11 is RPM only.
 

timkilbride

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
1,828
Location
Iowa County, Iowa
I don't have a service manual handy this exact moment to tell you what the error is, but first guess off the top of my head is incompatible radio code. The last code for ProGrammer is J2R11C02. The R11 part being the keyword. Anything greater than R11 is RPM only.
I forgot to include what I'm using. I am in fact using J2R11C02/F4R06M05 when going back to ProGrammer. When using RPM, J2R14C01/F4R06H01.

Tim
 

snoopyII

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
293
Location
On the other side of the tracks
Error 0551 is listed as "PIFEAT_READ_ERROR" , "Personality feature licensing read failure or data not availble"...so the good news here is it's not a hardware or fatal error. What features are enabled in the radio?..lets start there..
 

snoopyII

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
293
Location
On the other side of the tracks
During the recovery process are using a saved.enc file or are you manually entering the string? - I'm not entirely convinced ProGrammer is reading the string right, but befuddled as to why. The service manual doesnt say much at all about this..
 

timkilbride

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
1,828
Location
Iowa County, Iowa
During the recovery process are using a saved.enc file or are you manually entering the string? - I'm not entirely convinced ProGrammer is reading the string right, but befuddled as to why. The service manual doesnt say much at all about this..
Manually inputting the string.

Will it accept a personality after it displays the error?
Yes, it has taken multiple personalities.

Tim
 

ElroyJetson

I AM NOT YOUR TECH SUPPPORT.
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,525
Location
DO NOT ASK ME FOR HELP PROGRAMMING YOUR RADIO. NO.
I THINK I remember that on some radios, when you migrate them from ProGrammer to RPM, or at least RPM at some version level, then all the internal formats change and the location of various data gets remapped, and if you don't do the upgrade procedure just right then you will have to reinstall your feature string. I presume you saved your original feature string?

That needs to be the very first thing you do when you get your hands on any Harris radio. Save that feature string! It'll save you having to ask the TAC to research it and tell you what it's supposed to be.

After you have found your original feature string, reload it into the radio using maintenance tools.

Note: I have found that with the current x300 platform, the length of the feature string can change depending on what features have been added to the current feature package. On these radios, the string length is not guaranteed constant.

I THINK that the string changes length when any feature with a feature option number above 40 is added, but I'm not SURE about that. I can state that when I added 47 (Phase II TDMA trunking) to my M5300 and my P7300, the feature strings both got a lot longer.
 

timkilbride

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 9, 2006
Messages
1,828
Location
Iowa County, Iowa
I THINK I remember that on some radios, when you migrate them from ProGrammer to RPM, or at least RPM at some version level, then all the internal formats change and the location of various data gets remapped, and if you don't do the upgrade procedure just right then you will have to reinstall your feature string. I presume you saved your original feature string?

That needs to be the very first thing you do when you get your hands on any Harris radio. Save that feature string! It'll save you having to ask the TAC to research it and tell you what it's supposed to be.

After you have found your original feature string, reload it into the radio using maintenance tools.

Note: I have found that with the current x300 platform, the length of the feature string can change depending on what features have been added to the current feature package. On these radios, the string length is not guaranteed constant.

I THINK that the string changes length when any feature with a feature option number above 40 is added, but I'm not SURE about that. I can state that when I added 47 (Phase II TDMA trunking) to my M5300 and my P7300, the feature strings both got a lot longer.
Going from RPM to ProGrammer is when I have the issue with the error. Going from ProGrammer to RPM works fine.

When I got the radio it was last touched with RPM. I have the feature string backed up with RPM. I don't think I can take the RPM feature file and put in through ProGrammer can I? The file extension is difference and I think I even tried it but it didn't work. As far as I know, my only option is to manually input the feature string when going from RPM to ProGrammer.

Tim
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top