BCD996P2: downloading database via RR

Status
Not open for further replies.

danzan77

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 28, 2012
Messages
53
Location
Toledo Ohio
Hi all, have a question. Can I DL the complete Ohio database all IDs freq etc then go back and edit what I really want to listen to. Also is it a must to upgrade firmware before uploading db to scanner. Can anyone recommended which software to use freescan or arcx. I,haved subscribers to RR for programming, just trying to prepare before my scanner gets here.
If anyone has any helpful info they can add it be appreciated
Thank you
Dan
 

Seymourmtn

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 6, 2013
Messages
164
Location
Seymour, Tn
RR Download

Yes, you can amend you database and Favorite Lists, with Uniden.
It is always good to have the most current Formware and master database
I like sentinel fir working on my program, favorites and getting RR info back and forth.
I use ARC for he Virtual dashbiRd on my co outer. But, zi prefer Proscan for just logging the calms and the screen.

Hope this helps and have fun.

Doug
 

phask

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,120
Location
KZZV - SE Ohio
996p2 does not have favorite lists.

If you mean MARCS-IP, you can't fit it all in one system - 500 TG,site, etc limit per system.

Same way you can't fit all the entire state in one system.

You should be able to break it up and get everything you want in multiple systems.


Yes, you can amend you database and Favorite Lists, with Uniden.
It is always good to have the most current Formware and master database
I like sentinel fir working on my program, favorites and getting RR info back and forth.
I use ARC for he Virtual dashbiRd on my co outer. But, zi prefer Proscan for just logging the calms and the screen.

Hope this helps and have fun.

Doug
 

marksmith

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,128
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
The system memory limits are the issue. Even the statewide systems can fit in an XT twdio, but you need to break it down into quote a few partials.

Mark
536/436/WS1095/HP1/HP2/996T/996XT/996P2/396XT/325P2/PSR800/15X/others
 

scosgt

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
1,276
I prefer ProScan.
Did my 996P2 lickety split.
For large systems, just download the system groups 20 at a time, then do it over and over and give them all the same quick key and ID scan. Works fine.
 

danzan77

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 28, 2012
Messages
53
Location
Toledo Ohio
I basicly want toledo oh police, swat, osp in 3 different countys , fire ems. And i know those are 3 different systems but i dont need all the other agencies , busses,etc. And i like for it to scan like the old conventional scanners. Not sure if this scanner has lock out or not. Thanks for all your info

Sent from my LGL52VL using Tapatalk
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
6,295
Location
Louisville, KY
That shouldn't be an issue. If you look in the manual, you'll see specifications on the memory (how many channels/sites/groups) you can program in your scanner. Those are per system. Based on what you have listed above, four systems at most is what you'll have.

The scanner will have lock-out capabilities either via programming or keypad. There are three lock-out conditions: Unlocked, Temporary Lockout and Permanent Lockout.

A Temporary Lockout condition is for a given scanning session. If the scanner stops on a channel that you don't want to monitor, press the Lockout button once. That locks out the channel until the scanner is powered off and on again.

Permanent Lockout requires two quick presses of the Lockout button while stopped on a channel. The channel remains locked out until you remove the lockout setting by way of programming.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top