• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

DP 3400 won't charge

Status
Not open for further replies.

crappy

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
7
I have a Impres charger and 3 batteries. All 3 batteries are dead but the light on the charger goes green when installed into the charger. What does this mean? Thanks
 

crappy

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
7
Anyone? I am new to Motorola and have already ordered a second charger and it does the same thing. Thanks
 

gtaman

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
878
Location
GALAXY 19 91.0° W
Put the battery in then remove it. Them wait 2 seconds and put it back in. The light should be orange which will condition them. This happens to impres batteries when they sit awhile.
 

crappy

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
7
Thanks for the reply. I tried what you said but the light stays green. Do you think all 3 batteries are no good?
 

clbsquared

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 13, 2015
Messages
588
Location
Isle of Wight County
Some chargers tell you that even if the light turns green and indicates a full charge as soon as the battery is placed in the charger, you should leave it in the charger for 24 hours to help recondition an older weaker battery. Read the product tag on the bottom of the charger. If it's like other Motorola chargers, it will have some notes regarding charging procedures.

Sent from my HTC One A9 using Tapatalk
 

crappy

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
7
Update

All three batteries are no good. I ordered a new one and it charged fine. I just wish the charger would have told me that they were no good instead of showing green no matter what I did. Thanks for the help.
 

gtaman

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
878
Location
GALAXY 19 91.0° W
All three batteries are no good. I ordered a new one and it charged fine. I just wish the charger would have told me that they were no good instead of showing green no matter what I did. Thanks for the help.
Odd usually they flash red when they have gone bad.
 

ME801

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2017
Messages
146
Location
NV
yes, normally they flash red when there done. Chalk it up to unsupported "options".
 

crappy

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
7
another update

Turns out the chargers I ordered are no good. The new battery charged fine when I first received it but would not charge when I left the radio on and fully discharged the battery. Again the charger would light green just like before. I went to a Motorola dealer and purchased the correct charger which works on the new battery and two of the older batteries I had. Should have purchased a genuine motorola charger first instead of a knock off to save a few bucks. Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top