DSDPlus DSD+ Console Window Logging?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CanesFan95

Active Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
3,011
Location
FL
I have -v4 and >CC.log / >VC.log in the command lines, but DSD+ doesn't save the DOS-style console window data anywhere. The CC.log & VC.log files both come up blank. It'll log the CC & VC Event Log windows just fine in CC-DSDPlus.event and VC-DSDPlus.event, but the DOS-looking console window data doesn't get saved anywhere. Is there a way to do this?

Here's what I'm trying to log, and with -v4, it scrolls like mad:

46679817095_ff90572e20_o.png


And here's how I'm trying to log it:

33718425298_9622494683_o.png
 

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
10,362
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
At the end of the commandline for your CC copy of DSDPlus, add: >>CC.log
At the end of the commandline for your VC copy of DSDPlus, add: >>VC.log

example: DSDPlus -rc -i20001 -v3 -wsl400.2 -wss100.200 -wel0.1 -wcl0.445 -wes400.520 >>CC.log
example: DSDPlus -rv -Pwav -i20002 -v3 -wsl400.210 -wss100.200 -wel172.522 -wcl528.0 >>VC.log
 

GTR8000

NY/NJ Database Guy
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
15,416
Location
BEE00
Note that for some reason, if you use a single batch file to run FMP24 and DSDPlus using the start command, it will not create the console log, for whatever reason. I scratched my head for hours until I realized this.

So these two command lines in a single file Start.bat will not create the console log:

start FMP24 -i1 -P0.5 -b9.5 -f769.46875 -o20001 -_1 -wsl512.340
start DSDPlus -rc -i20001 -v3 -wsl400.2 -wss100.200 -wel0.1 -wcl0.445 -wes400.520 >>CC.log

If you separate those into two batch files, e.g. FMP24.bat and DSDPlus.bat, and get rid of the start command, it will create the log correctly.

@mtindor Would you mind testing this to make sure I'm not talking out of my a$$? I ran into this a while back, tested it quickly, then gave up on it (I don't normally log the console, so it wasn't a show stopper for me)
 

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
10,362
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
Yeah I'll give it a whirl. I run my batch files separately 100% of the time. But this would be easy enough to test. Your theory makes sense to me even though I'm not a batch programmer. I think when you redirect output to a file, you are redirecting output from the DOS window that runs the main process (in my case startmeup.bat) Whereas, if you run separate batch files and redirect output to a file, you are actually redirecting the output of the DOS window running each of those specific processes.

CONFIRMED: I copied my FMPA-CC.bat, FMPA-VC.bat, CC.BAT and VC.BAT contents to a batch file called startmeup.bat. It contained:

start FMPA -rc -i1 -o20001 -f774.88125 -b12.5
start FMPA -rv -i2 -o20002 -b12.5
start DSDPlus -rc -i20001 -v4 >> cctest.log
start DSDPlus -rv -Pwav -i20002 -v4 >> vctest.log

When I run startmeup.bat, everything fires up fine; cctest.log and vctest.log are created; but they remain blank.

So until somebody comes along who knows better than I do, i'll say that the only way to get your DSDPlus console logs is to run those commands in separate batch files.

And, as expected, running each of the DSDPlus instances above as a separate batch file (not using start), the logs fill up with data from the two DSDPlus consoles.

Mike
 

GTR8000

NY/NJ Database Guy
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
15,416
Location
BEE00
Thanks, Mike! I did actually misspeak, it does create the file, but it remains at 0 bytes, thanks for clarifying that part of my post.

I got into the habit of creating a single batch file for each site of any given system, it makes things a heck of a lot easier and cleaner in the directory, imo.
 

BM82557

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
4,972
Location
Berkeley Co WV
This is what I use in a single batch file to start everything at once and the logs contain data like they should -

Start CMD /c FMP24 -rc -i1 -o20001 -v50 -g15.0 -s0 -_1 -u1 -b9.5 -f460.16250
Start CMD /c "DSDPlus -rc -i20001 -f1 -o0 -_3 -F7 -v1 -E -e -T -ds59 -dd72 -dv19 >>CC.log"
Start CMD /c FMPA -rv -i1 -o20002 -v50 -_1 -u1 -b9.5 -L10
Start CMD /c "DSDPlus -rv -i20002 -f1 -o1 -_3 -I60 -F8 -v1 -E -e -T -ds59 -dd72 -dv19 >>VC.log -OS C:\Recordings\DSDPLUS\P25_Berkeley_County\BCP25.mp3"


Please note that the voice dsdplus line above wrapped around due to the width restrictions of the forum software, in my batch file it does not wrap around like that
 

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
10,362
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
This is what I use in a single batch file to start everything at once and the logs contain data like they should -

Start CMD /c FMP24 -rc -i1 -o20001 -v50 -g15.0 -s0 -_1 -u1 -b9.5 -f460.16250
Start CMD /c "DSDPlus -rc -i20001 -f1 -o0 -_3 -F7 -v1 -E -e -T -ds59 -dd72 -dv19 >>CC.log"
Start CMD /c FMPA -rv -i1 -o20002 -v50 -_1 -u1 -b9.5 -L10
Start CMD /c "DSDPlus -rv -i20002 -f1 -o1 -_3 -I60 -F8 -v1 -E -e -T -ds59 -dd72 -dv19 >>VC.log -OS C:\Recordings\DSDPLUS\P25_Berkeley_County\BCP25.mp3"


Please note that the voice dsdplus line above wrapped around due to the width restrictions of the forum software, in my batch file it does not wrap around like that

Thank you. Works beautifully like that. For anyone who tries to omit the double quotes around the DSDPlus lines, do not do that. Your logging will not work if you do that. Do exactly like BM82557 posted and everything should work great. It is for me. And it sure beats firing up four separate batch files.
 

CanesFan95

Active Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
3,011
Location
FL
Excellent! We have logging back and working now. Yes!! So all I did was add the CMD /c part plus the quotation marks and it works. You can use just one > for the log file names and it also works, it doesn't have to be 2 >>. I prefer just one > so the old log data doesn't accumulate and make for a huge file. It looks like if you want the dongle logs to also be saved, those also need double-quotes as well. But there doesn't appear to be an option to add a timestamp to the dongle logs. Here's what I run now and I get a total of 6 different log files that all appear to be getting saved properly now.

FMPA-CC.log
FMPA-VC.log
CC.log
VC.log
CC-DSDPlus.event
VC-DSDPlus.event

47601796171_906253d183_o.png
 

mrc333777

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 8, 2014
Messages
72
Location
Barberton, Ohio
you can do it this way too
use start /b
remember the logs will get huge with >>
use just one > to over wright the previous log

start /b FMP24 -rc -i1 -a1 -o20001 -g7.7 -P0 -f858.5125 -_1 -wsl50.880 >>logname1.txt
start /b FMP24 -rv -i2 -a1 -o20002 -g7.7 -P0 -f999.9999 -_1 -wsl290.880 >>logname2.txt
start /b DSDPlus -rc -i20001 -fa -v3 -O NUL -_1 -wsl50.830 -wss100.200 -wel50.10 -wcl530.880 >>logname3.txt
start /b DSDPlus -Pwav -e -rv -i20002 -fa -v3 -O NUL -_1 -wsl290.830 -wss100.200 -wel530.10 -wcl990.880 >>logname4.txt
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top