DSD,Discriminator taps and a Pro106

Status
Not open for further replies.

fourthhorseman

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2009
Messages
2,081
Location
So Far Away....
So..
after reading about this DSD app,it sounds fun to check out.
my question,,

the Pro106 has the PC-IF port for -discriminator output
,Or some sort of an equivalent to a tap.
I am assuming the DSD uses an audio line in for the input,
rather than a serial or USB connection/via the PC/IF jack..

Is this the signal the DSD is going to use,or dose it require
a traditional tap?
tapping the 106 is no big task,just dont want to drill it unless i
need to..

*not sure where to post this,,twas 3 diff categories,software,
radioshack,and misc..lol..
 

Astrak

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2005
Messages
1,610
Location
Mesa, AZ
It depends on if DSD supports 106/197 and if what you want to decode is a format that the 106/197 support.
 

fourthhorseman

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2009
Messages
2,081
Location
So Far Away....
Dose not need to support a specific radio,check the wiki page regarding the DSD app.
http://wiki.radioreference.com/index.php/DSD
its not a controller or programing app.

will decode the prefiltered signal off the d-tap..my issue is the PC-IF port,
and the signal that it sends..

posted genreally because its more than a GRE,Uniden or Shack question,
but its not really a DSD software issue either,,more of a cross issue,,

got VMWare set up to run Ubun,just need to know how to feed the beast...lol...
 

Astrak

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2005
Messages
1,610
Location
Mesa, AZ
Dose not need to support a specific radio,check the wiki page regarding the DSD app.
Digital Speech Decoder (software package) - The RadioReference Wiki
its not a controller or programing app.

will decode the prefiltered signal off the d-tap..my issue is the PC-IF port,
and the signal that it sends..

posted genreally because its more than a GRE,Uniden or Shack question,
but its not really a DSD software issue either,,more of a cross issue,,

got VMWare set up to run Ubun,just need to know how to feed the beast...lol...
That's what I mean by support, programs like PRO96COM and Unitrunker activate the COM port so disc tap info from the PC/IF port can be used. I haven't tried with Ubuntu getting the COM port for the scanner working yet, but you won't get any data from the PC/IF port unless DSD supports opening it and communicating with the scanner. So you would have to tap it.

I would like to know how VMWare is working on you Ubuntu setup though, I'll have to try it later I haven't really messed with Ubuntu all that much besides some cosmetic stuff.
 

fourthhorseman

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2009
Messages
2,081
Location
So Far Away....
yeah,,that was my thinking,,
just wanted to get a bit of feedback and dub & triple think tappin a pricey radio..

lol,,the ubuntu,,going to install the VMWare tonight,tinker with in tomorrow,
my neighbor is all about linux so im going to hit him up for tech help,,

but im itchn to get rolling on this,,theres only 1 TRBO system near by,but its enough
to toy around with,,and if they work out the provoice theres a one of those too,the DRPA-
where maint. is open,but law is all edacs-provoice.

and hell,,If they Do ever break opensky,,i smell Legend titles in the future!

i mean seriously,,from what ive read,And how i interpret the posting here,you can use
lets say a pro 97 to monitor a P25 system,,not in real time granted,,but hell.
i asked about that idea a while back and was told,nope,,no way,,keep dreamin!

real time cant be far behind,and If this really works out,we may never have to purchase
-New- scanners to monitor -New- systems again,,

Maybe anyway,,
 

Astrak

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2005
Messages
1,610
Location
Mesa, AZ
yeah,,that was my thinking,,
just wanted to get a bit of feedback and dub & triple think tappin a pricey radio..

lol,,the ubuntu,,going to install the VMWare tonight,tinker with in tomorrow,
my neighbor is all about linux so im going to hit him up for tech help,,

but im itchn to get rolling on this,,theres only 1 TRBO system near by,but its enough
to toy around with,,and if they work out the provoice theres a one of those too,the DRPA-
where maint. is open,but law is all edacs-provoice.

and hell,,If they Do ever break opensky,,i smell Legend titles in the future!

i mean seriously,,from what ive read,And how i interpret the posting here,you can use
lets say a pro 97 to monitor a P25 system,,not in real time granted,,but hell.
i asked about that idea a while back and was told,nope,,no way,,keep dreamin!

real time cant be far behind,and If this really works out,we may never have to purchase
-New- scanners to monitor -New- systems again,,

Maybe anyway,,
I wouldn't tap the pricey one, you could find a cheap radio on eBay to tap and not worry about potentially screwing up the expensive radio. As long as the tap is done cleanly you should be able to send that info to any program. Some of the decoder programs allow one cheapo scanner to be the tapped scanner and control a controllable scanner.........although that wouldn't help with TRBO or Provoice.


Good luck.
 

fourthhorseman

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 3, 2009
Messages
2,081
Location
So Far Away....
im not too worried about killing the radio the taps are simple to add on these
types of boards,you dont have to solder to the leg of the chip.rather just attach
a contact to the TP4 connection,,
i did an LED mod to the LCD a couple months ago,so my warranty is long voided!im also thinking of replacing the speaker,its a little bit high on the treble side for me,,
Or
im,at this moment thinking maybe a low-pass filter inline from the board to the OEM spkr??
gotta hash that one out now too...lol..

ill get pics uploaded of the process,,,(hopefully some screenshots of DSD after that!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top