DSD+ P25 NAC question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Airdorn

Hi.

I'm pretty new to DSD+.

When decoding a P25 system, I get a constant updating stream of information, including a value called 'NAC'. I noticed that the NAC appears to be very similar to the System ID.

For example, one P25 system I monitor has a system ID of BEE00-14C.

DSD+ shows the following:

Sync:p25p1 NAC: 140 TSDU

My question is, can I actually reliably glean the system ID from this DSD+ information? Are NAC and the system ID related in that way?

Here's another example:

Unitrunker (and RR database) indicate Entergy as BEE00-64F.

DSD+ NAC is 640

Thanks!

Last edited:

dave3825

Premium Subscriber
About the value "NAC" in the data stream,

Conventional P25 systems don't support CTCSS tone or DCS code for access. Instead they use what is called a Network Access Code, or NAC. The NAC is a feature similar to CTCSS or DCS for analog radios. That is, radios can be programmed to only break squelch when receiving the correct NAC.

I follow a few systems and sometimes the nac is similar to the sys id.

Your system BEE00 14C, with a nac of 140, should be United States Department of Defense . Are you in or close to any of these states?
CA WA VA FL GA SC TX IN NV PA IL UT AZ CT NJ RI LA TN WV AL ME DC

If it is indeed the mentioned system above, you can actually edit your DSDPlus.networks file and add the following line to have it display the system name with in dsdplus

P25, BEE00.14C, "Department of Defense (14C)"

or

P25, BEE00.14C, "DOD (14C)"

or

P25, BEE00.14C, "whatever you want to call it."

Airdorn

About the value "NAC" in the data stream,

Conventional P25 systems don't support CTCSS tone or DCS code for access. Instead they use what is called a Network Access Code, or NAC. The NAC is a feature similar to CTCSS or DCS for analog radios. That is, radios can be programmed to only break squelch when receiving the correct NAC.