DSDPlus and P25 trunking question

Status
Not open for further replies.

ki6bu

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
41
Location
Mesa AZ
Hi Guys,
I've been playing with DSDPlus for a while and have had no problems with P25 trunk tracking until now.
For some reason I can't get it going on this P25 system, Arizona State University site #2.
CC Event Log shows this:
Current network: BEE00.286
Current site: BEE00.286-1.2

I see a talk group active (TG8001) with Radio ID's and also see the channel number (Ch=0-1029 or Ch=0-1189) being used.
On the bottom of the CC Event Log shows this:
P25 Site:BEE00.286-1.2 NAC:282

My DSDPlus.frequencies file is as follows:
P25, 286, 2, 0-1029, 857.4375, 857.4375, 0
P25, 286, 2, 0-1189, 858.4375, 858.4375, 0

I get no activity in the VC Channel Activity window.

I'm thinking its the channel numbers.

My BCD436HP receives it just find.

Any ideas?? Thanks
 
Last edited:

natedawg1604

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 29, 2013
Messages
1,956
Location
Denver-Metro
Can you post a screenshot of your setup? I'm pretty sure DSD+ doesn't rely upon Frequency or Network files for P-25 systems, all you need to worry about is entering the proper control channel in the CC receiver.
 

ki6bu

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
41
Location
Mesa AZ
Trying to figure out how to post an image
Here is a view during a transmission
 

Attachments

Last edited:

slicerwizard

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
5,524
Location
Toronto, Ontario
It looks like that control channel isn't broadcasting any band plans. If so, DSD+ wouldn't know how to translate the channel numbers to frequencies.

So how do you monitor with a scanner? Do you have to define a bandplan?
 

ki6bu

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
41
Location
Mesa AZ
Thanks for confirming what I was thinking, I'll have to look and see what is programmed into the scanner, my guess is that I must have other control channels from different sites in there as well. They have 4 sites.
The scanner is using the Radio Reference data that is under Arizona State University,
I'll will check after work and thanks again for pointing me in the right direction.
 

ki6bu

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
41
Location
Mesa AZ
I checked the scanner and I have 4 sites loaded but I am very close to the East Valley site and from here I do not see any signals from the other 3 sites since they are 20 or more miles away from me. I am using a 7 element yagi pointed directly at the East Valley site. All the other sites are 90 degrees away.
So, no signals from the other sites on either my scanner or DSDPlus freq. display.

The only thing I can think of is that channel data must be in a different packet than the TSDU packet (shown on the pc screen) and the BCD436HP uses this to find the right frequency.

Thoughts?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top