Echo link

285M

KC1SSG
I figured I should start a new thread for this one. What is the deal with EchoLink? I downloaded it on my phone and registered my call sign. Tried it out on the test server then I started wondering is it ok to use? I see I can connect to repeaters all over the place, including one of my clubs repeaters. Do I need any kind of permission to connect to a repeater on EchoLink? It feels like cheating to use this to me honestly! I’m not sure if I’m allowed to use it or if it’s considered bad form to use it. I don’t want to piss anyone off I’m still very new to this and was hoping to be able to connect to my local clubs repeater to ask a few questions as their website is down and other then driving 10 miles to get close enough to hit one of their repeaters I have no way to contact anyone. I cant even find out when or where the next meeting is.

If I’m asking to many questions feel free to tell me to shut up! I’m new I can’t help it!

285M

KC1SSG