em,ergency communications, and just wanting to know what's out there

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mastrax

Ok, I'm new to all of this... so let's get this out of the way :)

I have a camp in a remote area of New Brunswick where I fish, ATV, hike, etc. My understanding is there is a TMR system (used by the rangers, and other emergency agencies) with a few towers in the area - operating at about 173-4'ish frequency range. I'm not sure of the trunking type though. There maybe other CB, and private/amateur systems around that I'm not aware of.

I'd like to know everything that is out there, and then in cases of emergencies... be able to communicate through whatever repeaters, and or direct sources are available. I plan on getting my license soon.

Should I get a scanner, like the PRS-500 to get to know what's out there? Or should I just go to a Vx-8r? What scanning abilities will the Vx8r have? Anyone have suggestion on another approach?

hfxChris

Database Admin
Welcome to the board!

Where abouts in NB is your camp?
First resource I'll point you to is the database here on Radio Reference, New Brunswick Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference
You can lookup by county, or agency for things like Ambulance NB, Natural Resources or RCMP.
According to the database, the only tunking systems in NB are one in Saint John, and the Nova Scotia system which also operates in Fredericton. I know there's other systems, but there is no province-wide trunked system.
Also check out this site, which is specific to the maritimes: The Maritimes Scanning Site - lots of great NB information there.