• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Emissions Change

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steveradio

Member
Joined
May 31, 2005
Messages
889
Location
LehighValley/Poconos Pa
I got a letter from Business Radio License and they want us to us them for narrowband emission to comply with the dead line. We already had our radio equipment switch over and the radio shop stated everything was good radio wise. This company wants alot of money to do simple changes which thought could be done on the fcc.gov web site by register under the ULS Data base.
The only question is when doing it your self what the new Emission code is for narrow band, frequency is 452.4500 which is not really used anymore. The code on the license now is 20K0F3E and 11K2F3E
nothing else is being changed...
Thanks In advance
 

Thunderknight

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
1,836
Location
Bletchley Park
11k2f3e is narrowband fm.
You already have it on your license, but if you didn't, you could do it for free at the FCC site.
 

nd5y

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
8,125
Location
Wichita Falls, TX

Steveradio

Member
Joined
May 31, 2005
Messages
889
Location
LehighValley/Poconos Pa
We dont use data any more, they used to use same frequency for the pools and stream data but it got transferred over to something else now.
So the 11K2F3E is all need to do.. My other license took care of my self, the association was ready pay this company out to make change.

Thanks
 

davidgcet

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 17, 2010
Messages
1,250
the wideband emission will automatically be removed 1/1/13, you don't have to do anything. BRL sends mass letters to all licensees in the database, just chunk it.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,909
Location
Southeastern Michigan
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.973 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

Make sure that letter is actually from the FCC. I have received multiple letters from some business, trying to look like it is from the FCC. That business asks for a lot more money than the FCC charges, especially since I am filing for a government entity.
 

Steveradio

Member
Joined
May 31, 2005
Messages
889
Location
LehighValley/Poconos Pa
Ya thats what kinda figured, now the only problem is access cores database because the old office manager had a password on the account but thats not working with the information we hae one thing after another. I was trying to figure out what our one FCC License was for, here they have a radar guns used for public safety dept licensed. Thanks for the help everyone.. And yes Im aware of most of the companies that do send out mailings, just feel bad for those organizations that spend the money and dont realize it.
 

radioman2001

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,795
Location
New York North Carolina and all points in between
Most Radar guns don't require a license anymore. The OLD K band did everything else seems to be license free. Also I don't think the FCC scam guys are going to bother you about radar, I have gotten about a dozen of those BS letters, and they all go in the trash. If I had though about it earlier, I would have sent them back for postage due.
 

SteveC0625

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,574
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
Ya thats what kinda figured, now the only problem is access cores database because the old office manager had a password on the account but thats not working with the information we hae one thing after another.
It is not too difficult to do a password reset in CORES and take back control of your department's FCC account. There are easy to follow instructions on the CORES web pages.
 

grem467

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
881
Location
Houston, TX
The business license people are trying to take advantage of part 90 licensees who dont realize that narrowbanding your own license is a zero cost item. Have you seen what they want to charge for a copy of the part 90 rules?

How about i just get them from the FCC website in PDF and print the silly thing...
 

Steveradio

Member
Joined
May 31, 2005
Messages
889
Location
LehighValley/Poconos Pa
Ya its funny because my ffice manager was flipping out she thought the radio company took care of the re-banding.. Even they kinda over charged I think, total bill was close too $300 for guy come down we have about 20 associatin owned radios and 10 system owned radios all had be changed around just from wide to narrowband settings go figure. If the radios wernt locked I could have done it myself they are all Kenwoods..
But Business Radio License deff over charges for everything..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top