Encryption

Status
Not open for further replies.

cajunjerry

I couldn't start new thread on encryption group. But this shouldn't violate the posted rules as long as its civil . I have been listening to scanners since 1971...but now there a lot of encryption, believe me or not.
But after all this years, I can put my ear up to the scanner speaker and listen carefully and I can understand 80 % of what they are saying..weird yes, but it helps me to know what is going on..let's don't violate the rules...what do you think?.

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
@mmckenna - what are the DOJ/CLETS people gonna think about this?

Well, as long as the PII falls in that 20%, I guess it's OK.

@cajunjerry,
If you can understand any of it, then it's not encrypted. Maybe you are confusing this with something else, but AES, DES or any of the other encryption modes are not going to let 80% of the signal sneak by.
If it's some simple voice inversion scrambling (different than encryption) then maybe you can make some sense out of a few words and put it together. But voice inversion scrambling doesn't meet the definition of encryption.

mciupa

Database Admin
cajunjerry, what y'all have your volume set at?

Have you tried a couple of scanners, one on each side of your head for a mock stereo effect?

lamopac

Premium Subscriber
I have found this topic interesting. I have heard voice inversion and been able to make out a few words, but all the encryption that I have heard sounds like beeps, hisses, and static. Totally unintelligible.

David628

Premium Subscriber
I couldn't start new thread on encryption group. But this shouldn't violate the posted rules as long as its civil . I have been listening to scanners since 1971...but now there a lot of encryption, believe me or not.