Equipment failure disrupts flights at LAX

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonar

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
89
Location
SoCal
Monday, August 7, 2006; Posted: 2:43 p.m. EDT (18:43 GMT)

LOS ANGELES, California (CNN) -- Landings were almost back to normal Monday at Los Angeles International Airport an hour after the instrument landing system failed, air traffic control officials said.

The failure initially forced air traffic controllers to line up arriving flights in single file on one of two runways.

Controllers eventually restored both runways to use by reversing the direction of approach for landings, according to Federal Aviation Administration spokesman Allen Kenitzer.

With planes approaching from the west -- over the Pacific Ocean -- the guidance system is not needed since the visibility is better, Kenitzer said. The usual approach to the Los Angeles airport is from the east, he said.

With the adjustment, about 54 planes can land each hour, near the normal flow of 58 an hour, Kenitzer said.

No major delays in plane arrivals have been reported, according to airport terminal operations manager Lee Hatayama.

The landing system, which guides pilots to runways when visibility is poor, failed just before 9:15 a.m. PT (12:15 p.m. ET), Kenitzer said.

It was not immediately known what caused the guidance system to fail or how long repairs are expected to take.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top