External Fixed Antenna for Uniden Scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jomider

Hi All, I have a pretty newbie question about an external antenna for my UBC125XLT. I would like to boost my reception as much as I can, so was planning to build/put up an external antenna in the garden. I have a Radioworld R-881 Super Gainer Scanner Antenna 25-1900MHz (41cm) already. I feel I have a number of options and my question is which one to choose and how to proceed:

1. Don't do anything

2. Using a pole in the garden connected by Coax or on the roof:

a. Mount the R-881

b. Buy another proprietary antenna

c. Build a homemade antenna

3. Add a pre-amp or not (no idea how or which one)

Hope this is not too silly a question - I have some knowledge, but as you can see not enough

Best Jonathan

ka3aaa

Premium Subscriber
mount the antenna as high as you can get above the roof line and as far away from power lines as possible.

a417

Don't worry about an amp until you have proven you need one. As @ka3aaa said, HAAT and distance from noise sources are your best friend.

An amp could (and likely will) amplify unwanted noise sources and compound your issues.

a417

Thanks K and A17, sounds like better get on the ladder :)
before you go up the ladder, take the UBC125XLT out in the yard with the antenna and see how much different it sounds. Your issues could be local to your house and not require rooftop height (which would help, but some people consider rooftop trips via ladder a 'drastic measure)...you never know.

Reactions: wtp

bearcatrp

Premium Subscriber
An external antenna is always best but if your using the original stock antenna, there are better antennas on the market to replace the original antenna that came with it.

Ubbe

I would like to boost my reception as much as I can,