FastNet Site # Change

ATCTech

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2002
Messages
1,285
Location
Central Halton County, Ontario Canada
It appear that site #1.1 we have listed as Milton has changed to site 1.4 sometime recently. Still on 420.500 but the ID has changed. Loaded site 1.1 from the Site Loader and it immediately changed to 1.4. Signal strength & TAFL still has it only 4 or so km away from me here up on Appleby Line.

1602785052244.png
 

VA3DBJ

Ontario Database Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
441
Location
Durham Region, Ontario
Looks like Toronto has been changed to 2.2

1602869794849.png

I am getting no signal from the Courtice site. I used to get a weak signal, but nothing now.
 

Enjoi19

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 17, 2020
Messages
92
I am getting no signal from the Courtice site. I used to get a weak signal, but nothing now.
I'm near North Oshawa and tried putting in both frequencies for the Mitchell's Corners site, neither seemed to be coming up. Did a quick scan of 460-465 and only picked up other things (Including I think the Toronto site). Doesn't seem to be active in this region anymore.
 

ATCTech

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2002
Messages
1,285
Location
Central Halton County, Ontario Canada
Poking around the TAFL, I see that the Toronto license is shown as Federal Wireless Communications, the very company we're discussing in the Niagara Peninsula including the other DMR TIII network the CBSA is using.

Mitchell's Corners is registered to 795395 Ontario Limited, but ONLY the 463.775 frequency as 461.625 MHz that we have listed is not licensed anywhere in Ontario at all now. (The network is comprised of area-specific licensees operating under the FastNet banner.) See more here: FastNet Wireless by Hytera – Enhanced two-way DMR communication network

The coverage map goes right down to Fort Erie, which makes me wonder if the system the CBSA is using will be amalgemated into FastNet over time as we're seeing commercial users on it these days.
 

VA3DBJ

Ontario Database Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
441
Location
Durham Region, Ontario
The 461.625 was licensed until recently to the left over of Williams Communications. The frequency had been playing the usual company shell game until spring of this year. The last time I checked the database it was there until around April, under an Ontario numbered company.
It was running until a couple of months ago. It was a very weak signal or the signal was directly towards Toronto/Niagara.
 

gary123

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
1,244
Anyone get the current site number for Ballantrae? Both Toronto and Ballantrae are listed as site 2.2
 

radioman253

Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
69
Location
Courtice,ON
In DSD fastlane v 2.268 using FMP24 to directly enter freq 420.4625 -
showing Tiii (HYT) Site:L13-2.6
This is a strong signal in the Oshawa area i suspect this and 420.775 have replaced the 463.775 & 461.625.
So far heard school buses in Durham Region on TG 16515088 and ENC activity on TG 16515173
 

mciupa

Member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
7,232
If someone can provide CH ID's we can add them to the database for 2.6
 

ATCTech

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2002
Messages
1,285
Location
Central Halton County, Ontario Canada
If the calculator is telling me the truth 420.3625 is LSN 77 and 420.775 is LSN 127. If it is telling me the truth then there are LSN issues with a bunch of frequencies as listed for other sites on the system. Updates to follow once I prove the theory...
 
Last edited:

ATCTech

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2002
Messages
1,285
Location
Central Halton County, Ontario Canada
First, correction to my post #12 regarding the LSN for 420.4625. I see I typed 420.3625, not 420.4625. The LSN stands at 77 from what I can tell as the calculator uses a base frequency of 419.2500 with 419.4750 being LSN 1 (using 12.5 kHz steps in the program). I'm confused about VA3DBJ's post #13. Where did you see a value of 3278 in the 420-421 MHz range? Even if the system used 6.25 kHz steps, frequencies as high as 424 MHz should only have LSNs in the 1200 range and LCNs of half that, no?
 

VA3DBJ

Ontario Database Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
441
Location
Durham Region, Ontario
First, correction to my post #12 regarding the LSN for 420.4625. I see I typed 420.3625, not 420.4625. The LSN stands at 77 from what I can tell as the calculator uses a base frequency of 419.2500 with 419.4750 being LSN 1 (using 12.5 kHz steps in the program). I'm confused about VA3DBJ's post #13. Where did you see a value of 3278 in the 420-421 MHz range? Even if the system used 6.25 kHz steps, frequencies as high as 424 MHz should only have LSNs in the 1200 range and LCNs of half that, no?
1603395560388.png
 

ATCTech

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2002
Messages
1,285
Location
Central Halton County, Ontario Canada
Out of curiosity, try it with an empty frequency file in DSD+ and see if it detects those channel numbers over the air. Here's site 7 (East Garafraxa) running exactly that way right now. I'm using empty frequency, network, site & site loader files to let the system tell DSD+ what's being sent so there's no chance of data in my files being interpreted as belonging to this system or site. The CC in this case is 422.2625 but there's been no voice traffic seen on the second slot so it hasn't populated yet.

1603395856831.png
 

VA3DBJ

Ontario Database Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
441
Location
Durham Region, Ontario
Out of curiosity, try it with an empty frequency file in DSD+ and see if it detects those channel numbers over the air. Here's site 7 (East Garafraxa) running exactly that way right now. I'm using empty frequency, network, site & site loader files to let the system tell DSD+ what's being sent so there's no chance of data in my files being interpreted as belonging to this system or site. The CC in this case is 422.2625 but there's been no voice traffic seen on the second slot so it hasn't populated yet.
Without the req file.

1603399641132.png
 

gary123

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
1,244
LOL, Bell does like to mess with stuff. That's my opinion so I'll leave it at that before someone gets mad at me :).
 
Top