BCD436HP/BCD536HP: Favorites Lists and Service Types issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

W4BOZ

Premium Subscriber
Can anyone shed some light on this? Like most folks, I'm still learning how to operate this radio.

I'm attempting to set up a list on my 436HP and can't seem to figure out what I'm doing wrong. I currently have one list set up to only monitor one county's (VA - Prince William County's Phase II system) trunked radio system, however, I'm only hearing the dispatch talk groups for PD and fire. I initially went through the radio manually and set the list up to only monitor one particular system then, after noticing I was only hearing dispatcher traffic, I decided to pull the configuration down using Sentinel. When I looked at the configuration in Sentinel, I noticed that under the Fire listing (for example), the dispatch talkgroup was the only talkgroup loaded into the favorites list. This was the same for other listings under the system heading.

I went into the database and appended the rest of the talkgroups I wanted to my favorites list, however, I'm still not hearing any activity on channels other than dispatch. I've verified this by running another radio and Unitrunker on the system to see when other talkgroups are active. If there's no other activity on the system other than a non-dispatch talkgroup, I don't hear anything on my radio. I have yet to try holding on a non-dispatch talkgroup to see if there's any activity but having to do that during normal scanning is obviously less than ideal.

I initially thought this was due to the services that the non-dispatch talkgroups fall under not being enabled. I thought this was something you could enable by turning systems on under Add channels to range, however, when I add the particular services in that menu, it adds a bunch of other systems that I don't want in this particular favorites list.