FDNY-EMS unit codes

Status
Not open for further replies.

amute

I'm relatively new to Emergency radio communication, and I listen to the EMS frequency a lot. Thing is, I'm very confused, and I've searched and searched, about this particular usage of code.

For example, in Staten Island, I heard something like "22 Henry" or "95 Adam", "22 X-Ray"

It's typically two numbers followed by a letter.

What is this?

amute

What's a Hospitals relevance to the FDNY battalion?

Like SIUH north ambulances seem to go across battalions.

Danny37

To be honest my knowledge on SI is very limited, they're other members on this forum who are members of the FDNY who can chime in. Sorry.

mike4164

Premium Subscriber
What's a Hospitals relevance to the FDNY battalion?

Like SIUH north ambulances seem to go across battalions.

The hospital has no relevance to the Batt. The SIUH ambulances are units that run out of the hospital and are dispatched by the FDNY/EMS dispatchers to 911 calls. The unit numbers are assigned to where the ambulance usually sits when not on a call,or the batt. they are assigned to work in. Ex: in the bronx I worked 27H out of Batt. 19 but my area was in the 27 Batt. area of Riverdale. The "H" units and the "Z" units are ALS/BLS Haz-Tac units and the "R" (Rescue) units in EMS are ALS Haz-Tac Rescue units that do a number of different functions. I hope this helps you understand it better.

Mike
Retired FDNY/EMS
Haz-Tac

tbendick

Premium Subscriber
They list units on the charts but the updated ones don't have times or CSL
Just station and unit

gaburbano

Premium Subscriber
EMS Unit Ids

The history of EMS unit IDs is as follows.
The first number correspondence to the Battalion Area, which for the most part correspond to the Fire Department Battalion numbers.
The second number corresponds to the physical area the unit primarily responds to .
The Letter corresponds to the type of unit. A or alpha thru N-nora are Basic Life support units.