Firefox Complains RR Not Secure

Status
Not open for further replies.

GB46

Active Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2017
Messages
660
Location
British Columbia, Canada
Problem with login redirect

After I login here lately the automatic redirect has been triggering an error message about an invalid URL. It appears that it's trying access the forum using the http prefix, when it should be https. I get logged in successfully, but have to navigate manually to get back to the page I was on.
 

Jim41

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
188
I have had a similar error message yesterday and today. Somehow multiple tries led to success.

Jim41
 

GB46

Active Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2017
Messages
660
Location
British Columbia, Canada
Well, this time I tried hitting the back button once the error message appeared, which got me back to the correct page properly logged in. Weird!
 

N9NRA

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
850
Yep, same thingy here. I get "invalid redirect URL" followed by the address for the forums, if i back outta that and try again it works, might take two or even (earlier today when i tried) three attempts to get to the forums after i log in, but it does work, it just takes patience :). Hope it gets fixed soon, it`s annoying. N9NRA
 

N9NRA

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
850
Yep, same thingy here. I get "invalid redirect URL" followed by the address for the forums, if i back outta that and try again it works, might take two or even (earlier today when i tried) three attempts to get to the forums after i log in, but it does work, it just takes patience :). Hope it gets fixed soon, it`s annoying. N9NRA
Update to my last post. Just tried an experiment on my Firefox browser after i encountered the error message and read this thread. Had the guess that it might be on my end (browser issue) and cleared the browser cashe along with cookies and history, after i did that i relogged into this forums site again, still getting the error, so it`s definitely not on my end, which as you can guess makes me feel better :). Good luck fixing this. N9NRA
 

QDP2012

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
1,929
I have been getting the same error for several days. I might be wrong, but this might be related to a recent adjustment Mr. Blanton mentioned in posts #10, #14 of the following thread:

Firefox Complains RR Not Secure

Hope this helps,
 

DJ11DLN

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
2,152
Location
Mudhole, IN
Also getting the redirect error, but if I just click "Forums Home," or "Today's Posts," which is what I mainly look at, it takes me right to it, so no biggie, but there's definitely a bug of some kind.
 

GB46

Active Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2017
Messages
660
Location
British Columbia, Canada
What I do now is copy the incorrect URL from the error message, paste it into the URL bar, cbange http to https, and it works normally.

Actually, I only get the error if I've followed the link from an e-mail notification and logged in on the page of that thread. In other words, if I log in from the forum list page, then navigate to the thread I'm following, there are no error messages.
 

bctrainers

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
117
Location
Olathe, KS
The error you're seeing is the vBulletin 3 Daylight savings script activating. Generally pressing the back button from where you came from then manually hitting the forums will resolve the issue.
 

QDP2012

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
1,929
The URL that is displayed in the error-message box, is a non-secure "http" link, whereas I am (or was) using the secure "https" link to the forums. So, this idea might be wrong, but maybe the cause of the error relates to a redirect attempting to automatically go from the secure (https) to the unsecure (http)?

Hope this helps,
 

GB46

Active Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2017
Messages
660
Location
British Columbia, Canada
Well, I just noticed that in the e-mail notifications I've been receiving, the link to a thread is always the insecure version. Now I no longer click on the link in the e-mail, but instead I copy it, change the http to https and paste that into the URL bar. Everything works fine that way.

As for Daylight Savings scripts, I'd be delighted if DST were eliminated altogether.

The other thing that's annoying: I can be logged into the forum, but have to log in again if I navigate to the main Radioreference.com site, e.g. to the wikis or databases -- same user name, same password, and I always check "remember me" when I log in, so it seems kind of odd.
 
D

DaveNF2G

Guest
The "main site" and Forum logins have always been separate.

I, too, am getting the "invalid redirect" response.
 

CycleSycho

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
445
Location
Central South Carolina
:confused: Are you telling members (everyone) that we have to now use the secure webpage to log into the forums so the error message doesn't 'reply' to us? On a second note (just checked), ALL my current links to RR are the non-secure url's. Since the 'forum' link is on the RR non-secure web page, shouldn't the 'code' be corrected to bypass that error webpage (and not all the 'go-arounds' so far linked in replies even if they do work)? BTW (for those already told of those 'fixes' because of the various browsers used AND the one comment about win xp), I am using WINDOWS 7 ultimate & IE-11 (with all updates), and I get the error reply every time (since I 'link' to the forums FROM the non-secure RR webpages through the link provided on the RR webpages). :confused:
 

WG3K

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Messages
163
Location
Chesapeake Beach, MD, USA, Earth, Milky Way
:confused: Are you telling members (everyone) that we have to now use the secure webpage to log into the forums so the error message doesn't 'reply' to us?
I believe the warning you are receiving is directly related to you attempting to submit what your browser thinks is login credentials on an unencrypted website. This is *never* a good idea. Just switch to using the encrypted version (same URL, just with https:// at the beginning) to use the encrypted version.

If you've been logging in over the unencrypted page it might be a good idea to change your password once you start using the https site. (Of course updating your login credentials regularly is always a good idea.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top