Firefox Complains RR Not Secure

Status
Not open for further replies.

Saint

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,378
Location
Fort Erie Ontario Canada
Problem with forums

I click on Forums and when the box comes down I click on Today's Posts and this page comes up, it just started a couple of day ago.
Steve
 

Attachments

CycleSycho

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
445
Location
Central South Carolina
I believe the warning you are receiving is directly related to you attempting to submit what your browser thinks is login credentials on an unencrypted website. This is *never* a good idea. Just switch to using the encrypted version (same URL, just with https:// at the beginning) to use the encrypted version.

If you've been logging in over the unencrypted page it might be a good idea to change your password once you start using the https site. (Of course updating your login credentials regularly is always a good idea.)

:wink: I believe you have read my post incorrectly, let me try to un-confuse (is that a word)? I am using the 'FORUM' link IN the RR (un-secure) website ( RadioReference.com - Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference ). I suggest (rather confusing[?] in my original reply) either fix the 'FORUM' link on the un-secure webpage OR taking the 'FORUM' link out of the un-secure webpages. The RR website is un-secure, the forum is secure. Being as I am not a webpage 'guru' by any means, shouldn't a link in an unsecure website 'link' you to a secure (https...) page for a secure login? BTW, as a footnote, the RR website also has a login requirement for members files and the such. I can appreciate the RR guru's not wanting others to get access to those , so isn't it more likely to make sense to have the 'FORUM' button in the RR website link to a 'SECURE' login url? Hope this made my original posted reply more clear? :wink:
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
12,034
Location
Central Ontario
Lindsay has been made aware of this thread. I have a feeling some of the recent changes he made have caused these issues. Looks like a few tweaks are needed.
 

FrankNY

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2013
Messages
137
Location
New York, NY
Why No Padlock?

I play Webmaster for a client who has three sites. Since Google, and others, have been pushing for secure sites for some time now, I recently migrated one of the sites from http to https.

It's a small site and total elapsed tine for the project was about three days. Every page on the site required updating, including all of those 'link rel="canonical"' tags that I had so carefully added a few years ago, along with some scripts and CSS and JavaScript files.

A Web-based tool that I found useful, especially for checking PHP scripts (used for CAPTCHA, forms processing, etc.) was Why No Padlock?

https://www.whynopadlock.com/

Checking the secure Radio Reference login page at https://forums.radioreference.com/ shows three insecure items, as follows.

http://vb-api.com/tracking.php?id=4

http://edge.quantserve.com/quant.js

http://pixel.quantserve.com/pixel/p-68CYS6s2Qv4cM.gif

I tested each of these three URLs using https and they all work just fine, so I'd suggest that all three of them be updated in the Radio Reference code to use https rather than http, as this should eliminate some of the "mixed mode" error messages that people are seeing.

Good luck!

Frank.
 
D

DaveNF2G

Guest
Minor update:

Using the Back button trick does not work for me. It just reloads the "invalid URL" message page, which eventually changes to a blank screen.

To get to the Forums, I have to delete the information after the slash in the URL (looks like a scripting command) and then hit Enter.
 

CycleSycho

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
445
Location
Central South Carolina
:wink: I still get the error page after entering name/PW, to get around it all I do is hit the 'FORUM' link button again (near top center) and I go right into the forum as logged on. Just an FYI until the issue is resolved. :wink:
 

N9JIG

Sheriff
Moderator
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
4,576
Location
Far NW Valley
So I changed my RR links to HTTPS, but it appears the Classified page doesn't like it, either in Chrome or Firefox (in MacOS):



 

N9JIG

Sheriff
Moderator
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
4,576
Location
Far NW Valley
Well, it appears the Classified page has been fixed, it works on both FireFox and Chrome with the https links.
 
D

DaveNF2G

Guest
I think we can mark this problem SOLVED. I haven't had trouble with the invalid URL message in several days. I made no changes here, so whatever Lindsay did must have cured it.
 

iMONITOR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
9,109
I'm still seeing the warning.

In addition to that, I'm now also getting this warning:
 
Last edited:

ridgescan

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
4,724
Location
San Francisco, Ca.
Since Mr. Oxlong posted here with his question I figured I better weigh in too. I've been having the same FF issue since this thread started and didn't say anything figuring it would be resolved. But it still hasn't gone away. I have to sign in, get that dead page saying "invalid" then I have to redirect manually to "forums". No biggie, just saying.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
Invalid Redirect

Same issue happens on me on firefox 52.0.1 logging into the forums.

It's hard to keep up with this. I hope Blantoni and his team work out the whatever is happening. https is meant to be on every single redirect within the domain. After submitting a reply we lose https. No reason to have to install add-ons to firefox further slowing down the browser. I have 3 add-ons and ready to remove one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top