• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

firestik on roof grounding issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

redneckcellphone

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 25, 2009
Messages
417
Location
southern comifornia
my friend has a ford exploder (lol) and has the 5 foot firestik mound the roof. the swr is off the charts bad. i know that he would need a ground strap from the mount to a good ground but where is there a good ground? and what guage wire should he use?
 

KG4INW

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
1,369
Location
Midlothian, VA
How's it actually mounted? The roof is the best ground plane (different from electrical ground) for mounting any mobile antenna.
 

KG4INW

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
1,369
Location
Midlothian, VA
I assume that's a permanent mount so the next thing I'd check is the coax itself. Perhaps there might be a break somewhere. If that mount is on a luggage rack instead of through the actual roof, then that could be the problem.
 

reedeb

Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
820
Location
Dallas Texas
Get something else besides a firestick. They never work right [mainly on Ford exploders, sorry I couldn't resist]
 

bryan_herbert

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 31, 2006
Messages
1,064
Location
Las Vegas, NV. DM26jc
If the needle is slamming to the far right its a coax or connector issue.

If it casually rises to a 3:1+ ratio its a grounding or tuning issue.
 

LtDoc

Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
2,145
Location
Oklahoma
The best way to check for a short is with an ohm meter/multimeter. Measure across the center pin and the connector body. If there's any resistance at all then there's a short in that feed line. That doesn't necessarily mean that the connector is shorted though, there can be a short somewhere else. The most likely place that "somewhere else" could be is at the antenna mount. So check both the connector at the radio end, and the antenna mount. The easiest way I know of doing that is by visually inspecting the mount to see if it's installed correctly. If it appears to be 'right', then an option would be to remove the connector at the radio end of that feed line and re-install a connector, making sure that it's done correctly. That's not exactly the easiest thing to do, so either find out how to do it or take it to someone who does know how to do it.
- 'Doc
 

JayMojave

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
668
Location
Mojave Ca
Hello Redneckcellpone: Thanks for the come back saying you got it fixed, good call. A lot of help is offered here and on other web sites, and many times we don't hear back from the original guy asking for help.

Good going and good luck with your radio.

Jay in the Mojave
 

w2xq

Mentor
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
1,939
Location
Burlington County, NJ
Not in this case, but the shield on the end of the cable attached to the antenna can be broken under enough duress. As discussed above a VOM is your friend. You can also check continuity of both the inner conductor and the shield. I've seen inexpensive meters at Radio Shack, sometimes for less than $10. A digital display isn't necesssary, IMHO.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top