Florida SLERS (EDACS and P25 00A.92463)

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
4,430
Location
Polk County FL
I looked at slers update on db and my list and I don't see 853.0625 listed for that county. 856.0625 is listed. This is on site 149. Not sure if LCN 1 is correct or someone needs to see if 856.0625 is the correct one? I just noticed on site 150 LCN 1 & 7 are same freq 856.5375.
 
Last edited:

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
4,430
Location
Polk County FL
The temporary SLERS EDACS site seems to be setup and on the air in Daytona Beach ahead of this weekend's race.

There's a control channel up on 852.425 and the Sys ID is showing 3Fh on my SDS-100

Not seeing any traffic at the moment.

I didn't see a STA for this year but the freqs should be the same as the ones used in years past.
The sds100 will give false site numbers. Only way to get correct site number is unitrunker. I've seen 3F in my area and NE FL areas. Try your sds100 for lcn finder section. I was by the track last Sat I didn't bring my laptop and radio with since I had someone with me we went to the Flea Market by the track. Plug those 4 freqs in.

852.42500INTERNATIONAL SPEEDWAY29.05944-81.05944WRCV895
852.92500INTERNATIONAL SPEEDWAY29.05944-81.05944WRCV895
853.50000INTERNATIONAL SPEEDWAY29.05944-81.05944WRCV895
856.51250INTERNATIONAL SPEEDWAY29.05944-81.05944WRCV895
 

edweirdFL

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
568
Location
Daytona Beach, FL
Those are the freqs. I have the LCN finder running on my SDS-100 now.

The control channel wasn't up until yesterday at the earliest. I last looked on Wednesday before seeing it today.

In recent years I think they have been setting it up outside the track over at the airport.

Let me see if I can get Unitrunker installed on my laptop.
 

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
4,430
Location
Polk County FL
I think they only turn on the site when a event is happening there like this weekend? Let us know what you got. I have a spreadsheet I can fill in. If you get unitrunker installed you can plug in the Control Channel and use the 3 freqs on scanner and follow the screen on laptop and look at radio see what freq shows up. If LCN Finder on radio can take 1 mint to a hour or so.
 

edweirdFL

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
568
Location
Daytona Beach, FL
It's a portable site that they move to various events like golf tournaments and the races.

I must say that Unitrunker isn't the easiest to get configured and running. I added one of my Airspys and ran it in discovery parked on 852.425

The window says Site 223 and a bunch of updates keep coming in until that windows turns white and the program stops responding and then crashes. Can't run it for more than about a minute. I'm probably doing something wrong that could be fixed by hours of reading documentation but I'm not willing to invest the time. If you know what the issue is, I'd be glad to use your knowledge to try and fix it so it would stay running.

SDS-100 still says Found LCN 1/4
 

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
4,430
Location
Polk County FL
It's a portable site that they move to various events like golf tournaments and the races.

I must say that Unitrunker isn't the easiest to get configured and running. I added one of my Airspys and ran it in discovery parked on 852.425

The window says Site 223 and a bunch of updates keep coming in until that windows turns white and the program stops responding and then crashes. Can't run it for more than about a minute. I'm probably doing something wrong that could be fixed by hours of reading documentation but I'm not willing to invest the time. If you know what the issue is, I'd be glad to use your knowledge to try and fix it so it would stay running.

SDS-100 still says Found LCN 1/4
Dang Yea I had issues with the new version of UT. I use the older ones. Try this http://www.unitrunker.com/download/ I use the top download
UniTrunker-1.0.30.10.msi 30-Nov-2014 00:00. When says 1/4 you can hit Scan button and make sure you hit E to save lcn. than go back to settings and go to that site and freq look what the lcn it is. 223 might be correct. Let me know if that version I use if it works on your end.
 

batdude

Florida Db Admin / Florida Forum Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Messages
1,108
Location
East Central, Florida
For the record, I have never had good luck with Unitrunker and SLERS. Either it opens 1000 windows (older versions) or it's just flat out wonky (version 2.1.0.63) on EDACS SLERS. TBH - open kimono - I only have Unitrunker on my system for one reason - and that's EDACS - And I very rarely use it since I find the interface extremely cumersome and it just doesn't seem to do what I want it to do (for SLERS).

if memory serves me correctly - there >WAS< at least one of the older (2012-ish) versions that did seem to work right on SLERS. Unfortunately I've tried every version on the unitrunker.com/download site and none of them seem to work right for me.... so dunno.

BLAE - I gave up trying to run Unitrunker on SLERS.


doug
 

edweirdFL

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
568
Location
Daytona Beach, FL
For anyone that's going to be in the area over this weekend, try this UNconfirmed info.

Frequency LCN
852.425 11
852.925 14
853.500 18
856.5125 24

So far I have only heard radio techs testing in the clear.
 

Unitrunker2

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
144
Hi Doug;
BLAE - I gave up trying to run Unitrunker on SLERS.
Sorry it's not working for you. It works just fine for me. Here's a demo using a preview from late last year:


Since you have a recent preview, please post a message on the google group explaining what problems you have and I can look at fixing them. I've not seen any complaints from users on SLERS since December.
 

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
4,430
Location
Polk County FL
For anyone that's going to be in the area over this weekend, try this UNconfirmed info.

Frequency LCN
852.425 11
852.925 14
853.500 18
856.5125 24

So far I have only heard radio techs testing in the clear.
I don't think the LCN look correct should be 1-4. What TG did you see?
 

edweirdFL

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
568
Location
Daytona Beach, FL
id="27" hide="0" hits="1"

id="287" hide="0" hits="1"

id="503" hide="0" hits="1"

id="798" hide="0" hits="1"

id="1310" hide="0" hits="1"

id="1311" hide="0" hits="1"

id="1566" hide="0" hits="1"

id="1567" hide="0" hits="1"

id="2311" hide="0" hits="39"

id="2312" hide="0" hits="114"

id="2313" hide="0" hits="11"

id="2314" hide="0" hits="1"

id="2315" hide="0" hits="4"

id="2316" hide="0" hits="12"

id="49937" hide="0" hits="1"

id="49938" hide="0" hits="1"

id="49945" hide="0" hits="5"

id="49946" hide="0" hits="1"

id="49947" hide="0" hits="22"

id="49948" hide="0" hits="31"

id="49949" hide="0" hits="1"
 

batdude

Florida Db Admin / Florida Forum Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Messages
1,108
Location
East Central, Florida
Since you have a recent preview, please post a message on the google group explaining what problems you have and I can look at fixing them. I've not seen any complaints from users on SLERS since December.
this is the most common behavior that I have seen. Relatively strong control channel --- does this - locks on then boom - gone. Verified this is a valid control channel on multiple other radios....

WARNING - Turn volume down.




doug
 

Unitrunker2

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
144
this is the most common behavior that I have seen. Relatively strong control channel --- does this - locks on then boom - gone. Verified this is a valid control channel on multiple other radios....
That's awesome! Thank you Doug. Please tell me all the steps you followed to get to that point. There's a lot left unseen not conveyed in the video.
 

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
4,430
Location
Polk County FL
So far I got the v2 to work on local slers. I had to do some settings on info tab also. Now I have to wait til I go out of town a few months and try the other sler sites. I had to use the zadig file to get read the rtl-sdr stick.
 

Unitrunker2

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
144
Doug - this may to be an issue with the RR DB. Here are my assumptions.

Control channel is 856.5125 on a site in Brevard County. I also assume you've downloaded
SLERS and not made any changes to it.

If these assumptions are correct, it's probably this site: Melbourne. At this exact time, the LCN/frequency pairings are:

140MelbourneBrevard01 852.950 02 854.0375a 03 851.4625c 04 856.5125a 05 854.2375

When the program starts decoding - it sees site 140 on some LCN (not displayed) on the SLERS system. Consulting the data you downloaded, it sees that LCN (probably 1 given the assumptions stated) is 852.950. When the VFO flips over to this channel, it's no longer tuned to 856.5125. That would explain the video you've posted.

If your video included the site window, I could see the LCN along with the other channels for that site. Please fill in any gaps to my assumptions and explanation and thanks again for the video.
 

batdude

Florida Db Admin / Florida Forum Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Messages
1,108
Location
East Central, Florida
ok. So - I deleted every single previous SITE entry for the SLERS system. This seems to have solved the SIGNAL/BAM - No signal problem.

so after deleting all the stored Site info for SLERS --- here is what I see, right now for Site 140 (Melbourne SLERS)

1630118026304.png

now, when I hit "download" to populate UT with data from RR, this is what I see:

note the circle --- UT imports site 240 (Fort White) as Site 140 and makes a duplicate entry for Melbourne (140)

So I highlight "FORT WHITE" and delete it. I get this:

1630118353977.png

then after deleting the errant FORT WHITE site ---- and clicking on Site 140 Melbourne ---- I no idea where UT got those 4 LCNs/Freqs. They do not correspond to any SINGLE site entry in the SLERS RR db entry --- but THREE of the LCNs are from Site 240 (Fort White) - not 140 (Melbourne)

So then I double click on the Site 140 entry and get this

1630118525614.png


so the SITE freqs seem to have the correct LCN/freq info for Site 140.... but it's not populating in the System box for some reason.

if anything I think I am more confused now that it seems to be sorta working.


(and everyone else in this thread - I apologize for hijacking it)

Edit:

Now I restarted UT. I get this.

1630119130440.png

UT has now created a new system - EC instead of EB... and completely wrecked the sites information. (I did not hit download in between these pictures)

My take here is that something seems to be very wonky with how UT "sees" SLERS sites (it should not see it as a new system - right?) and for some reason the sites information is getting re/over-populated.... note it put "FORT WHITE" in there again for Site 140.... (??????????)

wonky.

LOL

doug
 
Last edited:

lwvmobile

EDACS-FM
Joined
Apr 26, 2020
Messages
602
Location
Lafayette County, FL
Okay now, you've all got me listening to SLERS again at odd hours of the morning, listening in on encrypted garbledly goob for that one unencrypted group to speak up. Anyways, might as well be a good time as any to plug my own LEDACS-ESK program made for listening in to SLERS specifically in Linux.


I haven't messed around with this in quite a while, but, it DOES work pretty good for SLERS if you have any unencrypted groups to listen in on.
 
Top