• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

FMP24 Base Latitude/ Longitude

EarHoles

Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2018
Messages
121
When i fire up FMP24 CC/VC it has Base Latitude/ Longitude.
when i google where the coordinates are they are in Honolulu which unfortunately i am not.
What is this setting?
also what is the Database search setting for?
mine is set at 99miles.

Thanks in advance.
 

EarHoles

Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2018
Messages
121
I know this can be changed in the .Cfg file but just curious around the use of it
 

morfis

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Messages
889
It's used with the frequency lists. In practice you'd set it to your monitoring location and also set the range that you'd expect to receive signals from.

See the FMP.txt file for config explantion.

If not using the frequency lists you can safely leave those lines alone.
 

slicerwizard

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
5,351
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Let me guess - because FMP-Map was changed to use stunnel when the OSM servers stopped accepting unencrypted HTTP connections.

Sounds like the DSD+ peeps need to change FMP-Map back to the way it was...
 

EarHoles

Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2018
Messages
121
So just wait for a fmp-map update?
What is it actually used for?
Difference from LRRP?
 

EarHoles

Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2018
Messages
121
Mr Slicer i have PM'd you.
Very impressive, how does it get the coordinates? will this work with ConnectPlus?
 

slicerwizard

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
5,351
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Mr Slicer i have PM'd you.
Rather than fight with stunnel, just ask the DSD+ folks to un-fix FMP-Map and send you a copy.

Very impressive, how does it get the coordinates?
Your location comes from the FMPA/FMPP/FMP24.cfg file. The transmitter locations come from the .CSV frequency files that FMPx uses. They're built from government sources (license data). There are files out there for the USA and Canada, but I'm not aware of any for your corner of the world. You need to get your hands on local license data.

will this work with ConnectPlus?
Works with any transmitters that are listed in the .CSV files.
 

slicerwizard

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
5,351
Location
Toronto, Ontario
There are links in the Notes.txt file; here's one of them: https://www.dsdplus.com/dsdplusuploads/FastLane/USA.zip

Data looks like this:

464.9375, 0, "BUSINESS RADIO SALES & SERVICE", "300 EAST 9TH STREET/CORALVILLE/JOHNSON", 41.6811, -91.5585, "8K30F7W", "11K2F3E" ; IA
464.9375, 0, "CACIQUE COMMUNICATIONS", "1712 GROVE STREET/RIDGEWOOD/QUEENS", 40.7031, -73.9107, "11K2F3E", "" ; NY
464.9375, 0, "CALSENSE", "BLDG 489/CORONADO/SAN DIEGO", 32.6994, -117.2021, "11K2F2D", "" ; CA
464.9375, 0, "CANON VIRGINIA INC", "FACILITIES OFC 1200 CANON BLVD/NEWPORT NEWS/NEWPORT NEWS CITY", 37.1042, -76.4724, "11K2F3E", "" ; VA
464.9375, 0, "CARA ENTERPRISES INC", "15931 KALLSHER ST/GRANADA HILLS/LOS ANGELES", 34.2775, -118.4791, "7K60FXD", "11K2F3E" ; CA
 
Top