Frequent house to vehicle operation.

Status
Not open for further replies.

grprecordnut

Newbie here with a question or two, maybe three. I'd like to buy a mobile that can also work as a base. How can I do that? What separate power source would I need to have? Do any CB's offer plugs for indoor operations as well as vehicle? It's going to be a lot of back and forth. Base antenna will be down when not in use. Thanks for your time. GRP

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Newbie here with a question or two, maybe three. I'd like to buy a mobile that can also work as a base. How can I do that? What separate power source would I need to have? Do any CB's offer plugs for indoor operations as well as vehicle? It's going to be a lot of back and forth. Base antenna will be down when not in use. Thanks for your time. GRP

I'm not aware of any modern CB's that have both a 12vdc connection -and- a 110vac connection that are of suitable size to use as a mobile.

But, not a problem. All you need is a small 12vdc power supply to power the radio at home. Something like this will work just fine for a CB radio: https://www.amazon.com/Universal-Co...ly&qid=1575819629&sprefix=12v,aps,227&sr=8-46

Just get a second power cord that matches your CB and leave it connected. Bring your CB in and plug in the base antenna and power cord and you're all set.

a417

at what point does the effort of moving it offset the price of a separate unit? I just saw a uniden CB on sale at wallyworld for approx $30 with a cheap antenna. If you're doing it frequently, why not just do it once and have two units?

krokus

Premium Subscriber
I'm not aware of any modern CB's that have both a 12vdc connection -and- a 110vac connection that are of suitable size to use as a mobile.

But, not a problem. All you need is a small 12vdc power supply to power the radio at home. Something like this will work just fine for a CB radio: https://www.amazon.com/Universal-Co...ly&qid=1575819629&sprefix=12v,aps,227&sr=8-46