Kenwood: FT8 on Kenwood TS-440S

N4JKD

Amateur Extra
So a question, and maybe it is just because I am a noob with FT8. So with my TS-440s, I can run SSB, and the mic gain at 4, and work just fine at 100 watts, but for some reason, when it comes to running FT8, I have to max out the mic gain, and TX knob on the Signalink USB, and best I can get is 50 watts. I know FT8 is a low signal mode, and you want to use low power, but it would be nice to work those hard to reach stations, and have that extra power for a very brief period. Another thing I notice, is I have no ALC action at all, and I was told you want just a very small amount of ALC. The radio is set up for CAT control, and works fine that way, but is there any reason I can hit 100 watts on SSB and CW, but only half the power on FT8 with everything maxed out? Thanks in advance.

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager and almost an Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator
Sounds like the Signalink isn't generating enough transmit audio to drive the radio.

How is the Signalink connected to the radio?

Have you checked with Tigertronics about this? They may have a solution in their documentation. Or, you may need to call them and ask for assistance.

Engine104

Member since 2005
I'm not sure if there is an issue with the Signalink. I have one for my TS-140 and it works fine. I assume you set the jumper wires correctly for a Kenwood? In any case, I don't think you need more than 50w for FT8 or any of the digital modes.

KD6FOV