• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

G2/G3 Federal or Military monitoring

Status
Not open for further replies.

Haley

Member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
1,132
I have had the G5(VHF) since May of 2017-----flawless on several systems I use it on. I am curious if anyone has been using a G2/G3 for Federal/ Military monitoring. Specifically the 380-430 models (380-420 range). Interested in anyone's feedback. I have plenty of scanners, but I am thinking of getting another unication product, and I am well aware of all the limitations.

I am eagerly awaiting the firmware upgrades for my current G5. These units are SO good.
 

JASII

Memory Capacity
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
3,048
I have a G5, which is VHF high band and 800 Mhz. have considered using it on VHF federal, but since it won't mute when it receives encrypted conventional APCO P25, it is limited. Now, if/when they add encryption mute on conventional, I will reconsider.
 

rogress

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
102
Location
Chesapeake, VA
I have the G5 380/UHF model and reception of the 380 band is the one thing I have been disappointed in. It is because on the G5, the 380 band only uses the internal antenna. I even tried the amplified charger, and that external antenna doesn't make any difference, which is why I think the external antenna is only for the UHF band.

Anyway, I have been thinking about the G2/G3 for that reason. Apparently in those models, the 380 band uses the external stubby antenna. Just haven't pulled the trigger yet.
 

Haley

Member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
1,132
I agree with you for sure on the encryption mute, it would make a world of difference. I actually did use mine in Florida for VHF listening to the Coast Guard P25 channels. It worked, muting would be nice. Thanks for the input
 

Haley

Member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
1,132
I have the G5 380/UHF model and reception of the 380 band is the one thing I have been disappointed in. It is because on the G5, the 380 band only uses the internal antenna. I even tried the amplified charger, and that external antenna doesn't make any difference, which is why I think the external antenna is only for the UHF band.

Anyway, I have been thinking about the G2/G3 for that reason. Apparently in those models, the 380 band uses the external stubby antenna. Just haven't pulled the trigger yet.

About a year and half ago I posted this question BEFORE the G2/G3 versions came out (asking about G5 UHF versions). The reason I was looking for feedback, was the very reason you stated, the G2/G3, from my understanding uses a different antenna. That would make a big difference for VHF/UHF. Thanks for the input, helps a lot. UHF in any model seems to be much rarer (as far as users).
 

Webodisk

Silent key.
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
1,181
Location
Virginia Beach,VA
I am running a G5 with 380 band to monitor the ELMR system works extremely well, and the 1.20 firmware offers the ability to not receive encrypted transmission
 

jharr465

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2004
Messages
76
Location
Niceville, FL
I have had the G5(VHF) since May of 2017-----flawless on several systems I use it on. I am curious if anyone has been using a G2/G3 for Federal/ Military monitoring. Specifically the 380-430 models (380-420 range). Interested in anyone's feedback. I have plenty of scanners, but I am thinking of getting another unication product, and I am well aware of all the limitations.

I am eagerly awaiting the firmware upgrades for my current G5. These units are SO good.
I am using a G5 380-430 on the Eglin AFB system here in the Florida Panhandle with excellent results. I have been thinking about a G3 to see if the reception distance is any better or not. I am located about 30 miles from the main base as the crow flies and can only pick up the outlaying fields and ranges.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top