• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

G5 P25 conventional?

JMR3865

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
456
Location
Monmouth County, NJ
Im a little confused at putting P25 conventional frequency in. I set it up in the protocols, then when I go to add a knob position, I select that protocol, enter my NAC and then it requires a talkgroup. This is not a trunked system, its only conventional.

Also, I put the frequency in and put it in CSQ, if the radio is transmitting in P25, if the frequency is correct, should it come over the pager anyway? All I am getting is static.,

Thanks!
 

amys17

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 30, 2012
Messages
47
Location
East Sparta, Ohio
P25 conventional is actually trunked in a sense for the purposes of programming. Add a talkgroup with the tgid of 1. That is the wildcard #. Then use that. And it will then let you select the individual frequency
 

amys17

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 30, 2012
Messages
47
Location
East Sparta, Ohio
P25 conventional is actually trunked in a sense for the purposes of programming. Add a talkgroup with the tgid of 1. That is the wildcard #. Then use that. And it will then let you select the individual frequency
Here are some example pics. Kentucky state Police is p25 commenting. So here are my examples.
P25 conventional is actually trunked in a sense for the purposes of programming. Add a talkgroup with the tgid of 1. That is the wildcard #. Then use that. And it will then let you select the individual frequency
Don't further to enable the p25c in tab 3. Protocol parameter setting
 

N6ML

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
1,045
Location
SF Bay / Delta, CA
Talkgroups and trunking are not the same thing. Trunking is (very basically) a system with multiple radios on different frequencies that can be shared by users to allow multiple conversations to happen simultaneously. Talkgroups are simply groups that users can subscribe to, if they are interested in the traffic - somewhat like the different forums on this site. Talkgroups can be used on conventional P25 as well as trunked systems.

To configure for P25 Conventional, if you don't know, or don't care, which talkgroups are being used....

1) Create a "Protocol" with type "P25 Conventional"
2) Create a wildcard group specifically for P25C, with 65535 (decimal) in the "P25C TGID" column
3) Create a knob position type type "Monitor Mode", select your P25C protocol (instead of CSQ), the NAC (if you know it, F7E if you don't), and enable your P25C wildcard group
 

N6ML

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
1,045
Location
SF Bay / Delta, CA
Looks like you created separate wildcard group entries for each system. That's not necessary. They're all effectively the same (ID is 65535). You only need one. I name mine "P25C All".

P.S. You only need one Protocol entry for P25C also (unless you need to configure different tone setups for each system).
 

floridafuzz

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 20, 2003
Messages
88
Location
Hope, RI
Looks like you created separate wildcard group entries for each system. That's not necessary. They're all effectively the same (ID is 65535). You only need one. I name mine "P25C All".

P.S. You only need one Protocol entry for P25C also (unless you need to configure different tone setups for each system).
I wanted a separate wildcard for each one so the alias would show up on my screen on the G5 as the actual channel that was being used, i.e. channel1, channel2, channel 3, channel 4.
i.e. Cranston PD, landing on channel F1
 

N6ML

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
1,045
Location
SF Bay / Delta, CA
I wanted a separate wildcard for each one so the alias would show up on my screen on the G5 as the actual channel that was being used, i.e. channel1, channel2, channel 3, channel 4.
i.e. Cranston PD, landing on channel 1
The "Landed on XXX" message doesn't use the group alias. It uses the knob position alias. I expect it'd show the actual talkgroup ID as the "To".
 
Top