GATRRS in Travis County

Status
Not open for further replies.

unico

Premium Subscriber
I've been running BCD-996P2 for a few years, no major problems. I took some time off, came back, fired up my scanners, notta. I updated the firmware, and new channels for Simulcast 1 & 2, still nothing. Shortened my antenna, only showing signal on 1, but not stopping on any ID, even in ID search.

Any idea what I've done wrong?

Thanks for input, besides to get a SDS-200, one is on order.

letarotor

Premium Subscriber
I've been running BCD-996P2 for a few years, no major problems. I took some time off, came back, fired up my scanners, notta. I updated the firmware, and new channels for Simulcast 1 & 2, still nothing. Shortened my antenna, only showing signal on 1, but not stopping on any ID, even in ID search.

Any idea what I've done wrong?

Thanks for input, besides to get a SDS-200, one is on order.

I was wondering if it was because it is a simulcast system on the sites you're trying to monitor. But I still think you would get some kind of something breaking through even if it was just digital noise.

Have you checked the continuity on your coax cable and what type of cable / how long of a run is it? I'm guessing you probably have good cable since you did the work on your antenna and I'm sure knew what you were doing.

What happens when you put the 996P2 on the data channel for the site you best receive?

I don't think encryption is a problem on that system? I'm up in Fort Worth and I don't really get to listen to GAATRS (sorry if I got that acronym wrong) unless I'm passing through Austin. But if an ID Search still got nothing, then I doubt it's an encryption issue since you would have surely picked up something in the clear.