Getting Back into Scanning

Status
Not open for further replies.

KevinJ

In earlier years I was active in various types of communications including radio scanning. As a private pilot, I also listen to air traffic often.
The advances in the radio world are impressive. With NXDN, DMR and P25, it seems the days of simple FM are long gone.

I was hoping for a little advice.

I am considering the different scanners now on the market and of course, came across the SDS 100 which seems to have embraced many of the new technologies. My interests are across the spectrum, including police, yet not surprised to learn they are for the most part, encrypted, which is completely understandable. I am not sure how many other organizations have chosen to encrypt or employ some of the more advanced technologies.

My question, in making an investment in an SDS-100 from Uniden, is it overkill when considering both encryption and adoption (or not) of the industry to these new technologies? Is a more basic FM based scanner more in line with where the radio communication industry is today and near future?

I am new to this site and hope my question is appropriate.

I should mention I live in Ontario, Canada

Thanks

Kevin

Last edited:

tvengr

Well Known Member
I don't think it is overkill. I am surrounded by P25 simulcast systems and the SDS100 and the SDS200 are the only scanners that will reliably receive them. The older scanners were not designed to handle simulcast. More simulcast systems are constantly coming on line. The SDS scanners are also the most future-proof as far as being able to add new capabilities. I believe that you will live to regret purchasing one of the other scanners when you find how limited they are.

spongella

Premium Subscriber