getting DSD errors

Status
Not open for further replies.

pdeveau2010

Member
Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
80
Location
Tewksbury,MA
hi just set up a laptop with a usb dongle, works fine, dsd is giving me errors,

couldn't open /dev/dsp
ioctl reset error speed error

I am running a hp pavillon dv5 with dual core amds at 2.4 ghz
the sound device is amd high def device

anyone one know what i should do?
 

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,488
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
hi just set up a laptop with a usb dongle, works fine, dsd is giving me errors,

couldn't open /dev/dsp
ioctl reset error speed error

I am running a hp pavillon dv5 with dual core amds at 2.4 ghz
the sound device is amd high def device

anyone one know what i should do?
What version of DSD are you using? What is the precise link you downloaded it from? Did you follow the directions that came with the download? Did you compile it yourself?

Mike
 

pdeveau2010

Member
Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
80
Location
Tewksbury,MA
dsd v 1.6 got it from the sdr sharp links, yes i did follow the instructions, i have all of this working on a desktop, now just trying to get the laptop set up. and no i did not compile it, i am running windows 7 and just using trying to see if anyone had the errors i got , thought there may be a quick fix.
 

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,488
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
dsd v 1.6 got it from the sdr sharp links, yes i did follow the instructions, i have all of this working on a desktop, now just trying to get the laptop set up. and no i did not compile it, i am running windows 7 and just using trying to see if anyone had the errors i got , thought there may be a quick fix.
If you're running Windows and /dev/dsp doesn't work as the input/output device, I'd suspect you've got a bad version of cygwin1.dll . Wherever you got it, if you got version 1.7.26 it is broken. You need 1.7.27 from the cygwin.com snapshots (dated 12-01), or something prior to 1.7.26.

mike
 

KA2ZEY

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2004
Messages
509
Location
Brooklyn, NY
I had the same problem except that I didn't get the error. Instead I just don't get any feed into DSD and yes, everything is working with SDRSharp and VAC.

I then saw that there was a new version of cygwin and that's probably what happened. I have the new version which doesn't work.

When I look for the older versions, it looks like they are all linux .tar files. Where do I get the Windows install versions?
 

KA2ZEY

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2004
Messages
509
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Ah ha, I just read on the RTL-SDR blog re: Using SDRSharp and DSD that you should only download the 32 bit version of Cygwin.
 

KA2ZEY

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2004
Messages
509
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Well I spoke to soon. Now I'm getting the something similar to the OP's errors. Ugh, are there any old version of Cygwin floating around?
 

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,488
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
RTL-SDR Tutorial: Decoding Digital Voice (P25) with DSD - rtl-sdr.com

The crazy thing is that I had all this working perfectly 2 weeks ago. I had to do a re-install of Windows 7 via Bootcamp because I got a new MBP.
I gave you the answer you were looking for in another thread that you posted in. If you downloaded the latest Cygwin from their site (1.7.26), it's broken. Either use something older or download/extra the DLL from their latest snapshot on their Snapshots page.

Mike
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top