Getting started on a Pro-164

Status
Not open for further replies.

NathanExpo

Hello All,

The newspaper I work for just bought a new RadioShack pro-164. I read the manual and am trying to figure it out, even though I am brand new to this.

I programmed 25 frequencies into the banks, and I think that I have all the frequencies I need - local fire and police, etc.

I have a few questions, I hope you can help me out.

When I press scan, what is it doing? Is it looking through all banks, or just the ones I have programmed? (some of the banks were pre-programmed with some crap - local racing frequencies and stuff I think).

Sometimes when I press scan, it doesn't do anything. It gets locked on one bank and pressing scan just skips to the next bank. What am I doing wrong there?

If I press "pause" when I get a signal, does it stay at that bank forever? What if I don't press pause quick enough? A lot of times I hear a conversation and I can't press Pause fast enough.

What does trunking mean?

Frequency FM 155.5950 in my area is the Jackson Michigan police dispatch. Why can I hear them super clear sometimes, and have a really crappy signal a few moments later? What can I do to make the signal clearer?

I want to get the radio dispatch for Columbia Township Police in Brooklyn, Michigan. I can't find their frequency listed. Can you help me listen to their radios?

Thanks so much! I apologize again for being such a noob.

-Nathan

shadcall

Hello All,

The newspaper I work for just bought a new RadioShack pro-164. I read the manual and am trying to figure it out, even though I am brand new to this.

I programmed 25 frequencies into the banks, and I think that I have all the frequencies I need - local fire and police, etc.

I have a few questions, I hope you can help me out.