• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

GMRS Licensing

Status
Not open for further replies.

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
I am trying to obtain my GMRS license today and have already applied for my FRN number.
My question is how do I get my callsign name?
Is there another application that I have to fill out to obtain the callsign name?
 

nayr

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
36
Location
Denver, CO
they assign it to you after your paid up and application been processed (24-48h).. its not something you get to choose.

on the ULS website, file for a new license and choose type 'ZA - GMRS'.. fill it out and pay by credit card; u'll have it tomorrow more than likely.

-R
 
Last edited:

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
yah i figured it was something that i was giving to me at random but i didnt know when i would be getting it.. well i guess i'll have to wait till tomorrow to get it. thank you. answered my question
 

nayr

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
36
Location
Denver, CO
If you login to ULS (FCC Universal Licensing System (ULS): ULS Home) with your FRN/Password, it will say no licenses currently associated... click on Applications on the left hand menu and you should see 'Pending' or something like that. This means they have your application, check it tomorrow and see if theres a license associated or if the application has been granted/denied.. if its sitll pending then keep waiting; with yesterday being a holiday things might be off this week.
 

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
4,219
Location
#850Strong*10102018
I have try to update my info on my license not able to update address and not able to find the pay area either. I have looked for about a hour last week on the site. Is it under something I missed?
 

nayr

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
36
Location
Denver, CO
Login to ULS license manager -> Update License -> Select License -> Keep filling out and submit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top