Going Backpack Mobile!

Status
Not open for further replies.

RESlusher

Greetings all!

I passed my ham technician test last week so I'm shopping for equipment. I'm looking at the Yeasu 8900R; but before I pull the trigger on it I want to make sure it will be able to do what I want it to do!

First can it be powered from a UPS sized battery? I'm an IT guy and I've got quite a few of those to spare. My plan is to custom build a frame out of lightweight tubing and sheet metal similar to an ammo can, so that everything is together in one unit fitting in my bug-out bag, complete with fold out solar panel(s) and a control.

As I said, I'm an IT guy; but I'm not an electrician. So use little words and short sentences!

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and advice!

gewecke

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Greetings all!

I passed my ham technician test last week so I'm shopping for equipment. I'm looking at the Yeasu 8900R; but before I pull the trigger on it I want to make sure it will be able to do what I want it to do!

First can it be powered from a UPS sized battery? I'm an IT guy and I've got quite a few of those to spare. My plan is to custom build a frame out of lightweight tubing and sheet metal similar to an ammo can, so that everything is together in one unit fitting in my bug-out bag, complete with fold out solar panel(s) and a control.

As I said, I'm an IT guy; but I'm not an electrician. So use little words and short sentences!

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and advice!

I thought IT guys had bigger words, than we do? :lol:
At any rate, it's doable with what you have but I suggest using low power if using UPS batteries, and the more capacity the better, but obviously it's also more weight. 12 AH would work and keep your pack manageable.
18- 24 AH would give you even more op time. If you want to go the solar panel route, then I have a link for you to look at which might be interesting.
I have considered your project as well.