GRE PC-Data Cable (serial) Discontinued

Status
Not open for further replies.

wmbio

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2005
Messages
179
Location
Cumberland, Md
Last Saturday at a Radio Shack in Somerset PA they had 3 of these cables. I purchased one so there are still some at shack stores on shelves.

Good luck
Wmbio
 

GTO_04

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
1,825
Location
Noblesville, IN
Cables for Pro 96 Firmware upgrade.

Will this cable enable me to download newest firmware revision to my Pro-96? If not, which cable do I need and is it available from RS?

As you can probably tell, my Pro-96 has never been connected to a PC! My 396 is though.

GT0_04
 

GTO_04

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
1,825
Location
Noblesville, IN
Thanks. Is there any difference in functionality between this and the USB cable? USB cable is more convenient for me to use.

GTO_04
 

Bucko

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2005
Messages
1,024
Location
Marietta, Ohio
Both the serial & USB does the same job. On my system the 20-047 use's com 4 where the serial use's com 1. Using the 20-047 will put the 96/ 2096 in clone mode as soon as you plug it in where the 20-289 does not.
 

GTO_04

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
1,825
Location
Noblesville, IN
I have not seen this question asked before, but when I reflash my Pro-96, will I lose all the frequencies and talk groups that I have programmed in? I know I didn't with the 396.
Thanks.

GTO_04
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,935
Location
Katy, TX
GTO_04 said:
I have not seen this question asked before, but when I reflash my Pro-96, will I lose all the frequencies and talk groups that I have programmed in? I know I didn't with the 396.
Thanks.
Assuming you are talking about updating the DSP, no. If you send it to Ft Worth for some upgrading/repairs, it comes back with the Factory Default settings.
 

VintageJon

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2005
Messages
569
Well, I bought a USB version form GRE at the first of the year. I assumed the Serial cable would be out-moded soon. (Windows is like that, yeterday it worked but today it doesn't)

Thus I got the USB... (hey I have a USB hub and have never used serial port on the 'puter which is dated at this date. Hey, dated 'puter running Windows Pro 2000 still works, for the most part. Works very well with Win96 and GRE USB cable. May You Have Sucess...)

73's,
Jon
 

cnmsales

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
435
Location
Waynesville, MO
Can anyone confirm for me if this is the cable needed on the pro-2051 and if so do they also make a usb cable for my radio.

Thanks
 

jlmeade741

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
27
Cable Uses

The back of the package says it can be used for 20-196(PRO-2067), 20-466(PRO-2053), 20-515(PRO-99), 20-522(PRO-92), 20-523(PRO-93), 20-525(PRO-95), and 20-526(PRO-96). I have use this cable to peogram the PRO-95, PRO-96/2096, PRO-97/2055, and PRO-99 using WinXX software. I also have used this cable to program PRO-94 and PRO-2051 using Scancat Lite software.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top