• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Grms repeater and garmin rino radios

Joined
Apr 29, 2019
Messages
5
#1
Brand new to trying to understand radios coming using garmin rino with family. Recently I've been trying to solve the problem of radio coverage while hunting. The family uses garmin rinos and they work great except once some of us go over the other side of the mountain. Looking around and I found some down and dirty remote gmrs repeaters with an ammo can a battery a solar panel and either two radios or a simplex Repeater box which just replays the last transmission.

It looks easy enough and I will probably switch to a more complex radio, but the rest of the hunters will not. My question is will the rinos be able to communicate through the repeater? I know if they are set to the same frequency they should but what I don't understand is on the rino channel 20 (462.6750) and repeater channel 20 (462.6750) they are the same frequency. Just some reading I thought repeaters worked on two separate frequencies. One TX and one RX. So what does the rino repeater channel accually do? What's the point if 20 and 20R are the same? Thanks.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
1,229
Location
Shawnee Kansas (Kansas City)
#2
Your rino is showing you the receive frequency. Your rino should transmit on 467.675 (the receive frequency of the repeater) and receive on 462.6750 (the transmit frequency of the repeater.
BB
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2019
Messages
5
#3
Ahh. Thanks. I feel kinda stupid, but before I take the plunge I wanted to make sure I understood how it works. I got confused with the whole rino thing. Thanks for clearing it up.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
2
#4
Not sure if all repeaters will pass on you digital information from your Rino. Your Rino's ability to send text messages and your gps location might not pass through the repeater.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2019
Messages
5
#5
Not so worried about the gps and text data as I am with having comms out there... But it would be a plus.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
 

ko6jw_2

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
692
Location
Santa Ynez, CA
#6
FCC does not allow position reporting on GMRS repeater channels. It's in the Garmin manual. The portable repeater sounds good in theory. Of course you could all get ham licenses and use digital modes that have GPS data built in. Some Yaesu fusion radios have GPS built in and automatically transmit position (and call sign) data and work through repeaters. The radios like the FT2DR are cheaper than the Garmin.

The portable repeater would have to be high up and in the clear to be effective.

A lot of ham radios can function as cross band repeaters. I also have a cross band repeater that can take two HT's and convert them into a repeater.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2019
Messages
5
#7
These guys aren't interested in ham licenses. I have a spot picked out to place the repeater on one of the peaks. It is really for if the **** hits the fan and there is no cell service I can atleast give my location over the air. I would have to do some testing to see how far and where I can get.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
385
#8
What he is talking about is sometimes known as a parrot simplex repeater. It is not a full duplex repeater!!

All it does is record the audio and then transmit the recorded message out once the user de-keys.

To the OP, this will work (kind of clunky) but should work for your situation fine.

Some here need to work on reading comprehension it seems!:D
 

ko6jw_2

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
692
Location
Santa Ynez, CA
#9
These guys aren't interested in ham licenses. I have a spot picked out to place the repeater on one of the peaks. It is really for if the **** hits the fan and there is no cell service I can atleast give my location over the air. I would have to do some testing to see how far and where I can get.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Not interested in GMRS licenses either I suppose. The 5 watt Garmins require a license on GMRS.

The repeater I'm talking about is full duplex. Because it is cross band it doesn't need a duplexer.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2019
Messages
5
#10
Sooo you assume I'm not gonna pay the $70 for a license. This is why no one gets into HAM.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
 

ko6jw_2

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
692
Location
Santa Ynez, CA
#11
Sooo you assume I'm not gonna pay the $70 for a license. This is why no one gets into HAM.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
I don't assume anything about anybody. The fact is that most GMRS use is unlicensed. I have a GMRS license and a ham license. No fee for a ham license. By the way, we use GMRS with out joint ARES/CERT communications exercises. This is not some sort of elitist ham rant.

My point is that with GMRS you are limited to a few channels in one band. With ham radio you have many more choices of band, output power, and modulation. Also the ability to exchange GPS data digitally or through APRS. Who knows, there may be ham radio repeaters that cover your area. Then in an emergency you have a chance (probably slight) of reaching someone who can get help to you.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
385
#14
With ham radio you have many more choices of band, output power, and modulation. Also the ability to exchange GPS data digitally or through APRS. Who knows, there may be ham radio repeaters that cover your area. Then in an emergency you have a chance (probably slight) of reaching someone who can get help to you.
Read his post, he does not want or need a HAM license, for his hunting buddies!!!!!!
He SIMPLY wants to communicate over a hill!!!!
He Posted in the GMRS/FRS Forum,, not ham radio forum.

I feel like I am at the local car dealership, and the sales wont stop talking about the corvette when I came in to look at a truck!!
 
Top