Had 3 Pis with 3 SDRs running OP25. Moved to 1 desktop and thought I should switch to multi_rx.py, but I am losing significant amounts of audio now.

nvycat14

Hello,

So, I will make this long story as short as possible while including as much detail as I think may be significant. I'm a super noob on some things, yet experienced in others, so thank you to anyone who can work with me, as I can't find any other posts that seem to explain the predicament I'm in.

My old setup was 3 Raspberry Pis, each running either Raspberry Pi OS or DietPi, each with its own SDR (2 RTL-SDRs and 1 Airspy), each using liquidsoap and icecast2 to 1) dump audio for later review to a file of my choice with the date and time in the file name, and 2) stream out for network listening, either on the LAN or using a VPN into my LAN from the internet. This worked well enough, but the Pis are very limited - one is a 3B+ and the other 2 are just 3Bs - and problems I ran into included random and unpredictable delays in restarting processes which led to oddball filenames (with the times varying wildly sometimes). I wanted something more powerful.

My new setup is a desktop PC that came with Windows which I then wiped and installed Dragon OS. So far, I have connected only the 2 RTL-SDR dongles to this PC, but I seem to have them up and running as I intended them - sort of. I struggled for a bit to transition from rx.py to multi_rx.py, then wasn't even sure if multi_rx.py is the route I should go for my use-case. So if this is clunky and not the best route, by all means, please tell me!!

But, as it stands, I am running 4 total system processes: op25-rx_main.service which corresponds with op25-liq1.service and op25-rx_backup.service which corresponds with op25-liq2.service. Each of the rx services calls its own instance of multi_rx.py. For op25-rx_main.service, it uses "./multi_rx.py -c local_main.json > stderr.log". And finally, local_main.json looks like this:

Code:
{
    "channels": [
        {