• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Hand held Car Mount

Status
Not open for further replies.

E-Man

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
841
Location
Global
I am looking for a hand held car mount for my Pro-96, seen it somewhere on RR but now cant find it?, anyway it looks like you jam it in the gap between car radio and dash? then belt clip is used to hold Pro-96 in place. Thanks
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
23,490
Location
Bowie, Md.
Is it in our Scanner Accessories Wiki? If not, when you do find it, please add it.

73s Mike
 

E-Man

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Mar 1, 2004
Messages
841
Location
Global
I found it in the Wiki, its the Pro-Fit VSM. Thanks Mike
 

Junior08

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 12, 2003
Messages
858
Location
Cape Cod
Well,

I had another thread in this forum looking for input on a Pro 96 mount for my Toyota Yaris, and I may have found what I was looking for at the Pro Clip site. The link below looks like what I want to go with. The mount is shown, but I'm thinking do I really need a holder to go with it? If the mount isn't too thick, why not just fasten it as shown, then slide the 96's belt clip right on it?

http://www.proclipusa.com/?sectionp...ategoryid=15437&p_sitecategoryid=&p_year=2007
 

trap5858

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 22, 2003
Messages
795
Location
Doylestown PA
I was looking at that mount and wondering if it would hold given the weight of the pro-96. I believe those mounts are held to the dash by friction, the other concern would be the radio sliding off the mount going around turns. Might be worth getting that and trying it, if needed, get the radio holder at a later date.

Thanks
 

Junior08

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 12, 2003
Messages
858
Location
Cape Cod
Same thoughts here. I hope to be acquiring a Pro 96 in the next week or so. When I do I will probably purchase this mount. I'll update at that time.
 

tallen74

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
41
Location
Beebe, AR
You guys realize that the Pro-Clip is a two part holder. There is the mount, which you have pictured via you link, and the is the device holder that connects to the mount.
 

trap5858

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 22, 2003
Messages
795
Location
Doylestown PA
I do understand that this is a two piece mount- I was looking for some input on which device holder would be appropriate for a PRO-96. All they list on the site for the device holder are cell phones and GPS devices. Any comments?
 

tnf

Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2006
Messages
0
if you search for pro 96 scanner on ebay, i think some of the results are for a car mount type thing...not sure now that I think of it, but it might be what you are looking for! -tnf
 

Junior08

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 12, 2003
Messages
858
Location
Cape Cod
The more I look into possible mounts for a 96, the more I'm thinking about one that connects to a seat bolt and has a standard cell phone holder on it. I had 1 from an Ebay search, but can't find the link. On the Ebay page I think I just entered Radio Shack scanners under search topics. There should be several listings from a power seller. Can't remember their name, sorry.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top