Harris Unity All Band Handheld Radio????

Status
Not open for further replies.

gman183

Hello,

I am a Police Officer in the southern California area and work for an agency which has a huge (LA Co, SB Co, Imperial Co) area. I currently have to carry three handheld radio's in my unit and depending on where I am have to grab the radio for the county I am in when I get out of the car. My vehicle radio is an all band Harris Mobile and don’t have an issue communicating, but when I’m out of the car it’s a different story, especially because some counties have neighboring agencies which use different frequencies (i.e., VHF/800). I have the opportunity to purchase a Harris Unity All-Band handheld via my department to solve this problem but have a few questions.

If elect to buy the Harris radio which is capable of P25 trunking, could it talk on a system which employs Motorola Smartnet type II or EDACS trunking (i.e., San Bernardino and Riverside Counties)?? Any assistance would be appreciated as my radio knowledge is very limited.

If you choose you can respond to my personal email at PC832PROF@msn.com or via this forum.

radioman2001

New York North Carolina and all points in between
Your best bet is to talk to Harris, I believe the radio can be outfitted with any of the trunking formats and P-25 and the like (very expensive, 4k for each trunking format I believe). If you are not purchasing new from Harris be advised that if it doesn't have what you want Harris may not reflash the radio to them for you, and the other agencies may not give you the system keys for the trunking programming. I also understand that the Harris radio will work on Motorola Smartnet systems with the exception of the Emergency button working. I am sure they did that on purpose.

K6CDO

Premium Subscriber