• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Has Anybody Here Actually Used All Of Your Available Unication G4/G5 Memory Yet?

JASII

Memory Capacity
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
2,725
As posted above, has anybody here maxed out all of the available memory, yet? I suppose you could, either with trunked systems or conventional systems. I still have quite a bit of memory available. 128 zones x 8 knob positions could fill up fast enough with conventional channels because of how the conventional programming is designed.

Has anybody tried putting numerous statewide trunked systems in it, yet? Considering how Talkgroup Monitor and Full Spectrum Scan work, along with Blok and Hold offered in Firmware 1.3, it might be relatively easy to program multiple statewide trunked systems and travel from one state to another without too much difficulty.
 

BenScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 12, 2001
Messages
654
I've loaded it up enough that it's caused problems, but never received a "memory exceeded" type message. With the new Block and Hold functions, it's not necessary to load it up like before, and performance is much better.
 

ad7th

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
10
Location
Tacoma, Washington
I've loaded it up enough that it's caused problems, but never received a "memory exceeded" type message. With the new Block and Hold functions, it's not necessary to load it up like before, and performance is much better.
What kind of problems did you have?
 

BenScan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 12, 2001
Messages
654
It would go into a rebooting loop. It's been reported to Unication, and is supposedly fixed in the latest beta version of 1.3.
 

N4VKF

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 11, 2002
Messages
757
Location
Spotsylvania, Virginia
I have 64 zones programmed on a G4. 3 zones are place holders with no systems yet. I am steady filling up the radio id alias database.
 

JASII

Memory Capacity
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
2,725
...I am steady filling up the radio id alias database.
Interesting. Thank you for the reply.

Does anybody happen to know what the total maximum number of radio ID Aliases is?
 

JASII

Memory Capacity
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
2,725
When I first read 999 aliases, it sounded like a lot. However, when I "did the math", 999 ÷ 64 = 15.609375, so if completely unique aliases were used and each trunked system programmed had 64 aliases, that would allow just under 16 systems.

My reality, though, has been that several zones I have programmed have some of the same mutual aid talkgroups programmed into them. While I wouldn't mind having more than 999 aliases available, it isn't a "deal-breaker" for me, either!
 

Hit_Factor

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
1,968
Location
Saint Joseph, MI
I'm just entering aliases for the Local PD, Sheriff, and adjoining PDs. I'm up to about 400 RIDs. I decide not to put in the Michigan State Police units that cruise through the area on I-94.
 

PVPD730

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2006
Messages
793
I have 64 zones programmed on a G4. 3 zones are place holders with no systems yet. I am steady filling up the radio id alias database.
I'm quickly approaching the maximum limit of radio aliases for the 2 pagers we're testing. Right now I have around 905 RIDs programmed in our G4 and G5 units. Our entire fleet has approximately 1,800 subscriber radios (excluding the dispatch consoles). It would be nice if they could increase the max number to 2000-2500 aliases vs the current 999).

Personally, I classify that as a "want" rather than a "need".
 

JASII

Memory Capacity
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
2,725
I was doing some programming this weekend on my Unication G5 and I was wondering how many TGIDs can be stored. It lists 8192. To break that down, that would be 64 x 128. That would be a lot of Talkgroups!
 
Top