• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Has anyone noticed this?

Status
Not open for further replies.

W2MR

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2004
Messages
136
I am almost unwilling to admit this but here goes....

I was a two-way technician for 36 years and stumbled upon this.


When I had a radio with odd problems and had no archive file to reprogram the radio I would upload and then download to/from the radio This would sometimes cure the problem.

I just tried it with my amateur portable - a Kenwood TH-F6. It had a CTCSS decode problem on one channel. I uploaded/downloaded to test new software and a programming cable and noticed the problem is gone now.

Anyone else notice this? No, I am not kidding.

Mark
 

nd5y

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
8,120
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
I have worked for several electronics manufacturers and repair centers in the past.
Most of the stuff I worked on had various types of programmable ICs, flash memory, firmware and software.
It was very common to have a malfunctioning unit that worked after reprogramming, reflashing, reloading software or doing a hard reset.
 

W2MR

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2004
Messages
136
I had a problem with a UHF paging transmitter causing interference to other UHF systems. I located the bad transmitter and called the owner. He had the maintenance provider call me and he took care of the problem. He told me "all I did was unplug the final tube and plug it back in." That did cure the problem.
 

KC8ESL

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2008
Messages
535
Location
Painesville, Ohio
I've noticed that with wireless microphone systems as well. Backdated the firmware using the service tool, then update using methods as prescribed for any user and the problem is fixed.

Sennheiser G2 receivers seemed to have a programmable oscillator of a sorts (an adjustment for wide band frequency adjustment maybe??) that the service tool would calibrate when it back dated firmware.
 

davidgcet

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 17, 2010
Messages
1,250
old Moto Maxtrac trunking radios would sometime key the system but drop back out soon as a repeater was assigned. All it took was read/repro and it would be good to go for months/years. They would spontaneously change the connect tone, and soon as you repro it would reset it. Seen the same thing out of the MCS series later, and even had one XT do it.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
10,896
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
In addition to a few radio systems, I run a large PBX. The number of issues that can be fixed by grabbing the circuit packs, pulling them out and reseating them is similar.
 

ecps92

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
10,559
Location
Taxachusetts
Yup, the old Re-Set the Tube with those GOLD pins :)

I had a problem with a UHF paging transmitter causing interference to other UHF systems. I located the bad transmitter and called the owner. He had the maintenance provider call me and he took care of the problem. He told me "all I did was unplug the final tube and plug it back in." That did cure the problem.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top