• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Havis Console Stripped Screw Holes

Status
Not open for further replies.

wpannone

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
249
Location
Stamford, CT
Well in an attempt to install my havis console and removing the faceplates to fix wiring, a few of the holes where the faceplate screws tap into were stripped. How can these be fixed and could I order replacement screw brackets to screw into? Thanks.
 

ResQguy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,248
Unfortunately Havis consoles don't have replaceable rails like Troy or JottoDesk, because the screws go into the machined structure of the top. If you're lucky enough to have a horizontal style console, you should be able to just turn the whole thing upside down and use the bottom rails as the top. Your other option is to move your faceplates around to new locations that aren't already stripped.
 

n5ims

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
3,699
Well in an attempt to install my havis console and removing the faceplates to fix wiring, a few of the holes where the faceplate screws tap into were stripped. How can these be fixed and could I order replacement screw brackets to screw into? Thanks.
Tap and Die Sets at Harbor Freight Tools

Repair the stripped holes (probably using the next larger size), get new screws and don't strip them the next time.
 

jhooten

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Messages
1,381
Location
Paige, Republic of Texas
Slightly bigger screw or JB Weld.

Mix the JB Weld, put it in the slot, coat the screw in oil, press it in the wet JB Weld and let it harden. The screw should screw right out leaving a threaded hole in place.
 

durango5550

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 14, 2003
Messages
5
Location
Worthless nut state
just take the bottom rails off and swap them with the top rails. the Havis consoles are really very simply put together sometimes its hard to believe they cost so much.
 

KE5MC

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
865
Location
Lewisville, TX
I am assuming the rail has thickness and the original hole is drilled and tapped. Helicoil allows for repair and to use the same screw size you would has used. Sometimes moving up one screw size has a domino effect creating problems in other areas. The down side is the cost of the kit just to repair one or a few holes. On the plus side they are commonly used for repair so you might find someone local that has what you need.

Mike
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
6,325
Location
Louisville, KY
Is it possible to "splint" (or "scab") another piece of metal under the original rail and then tap the repair?
 

jhooten

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Messages
1,381
Location
Paige, Republic of Texas
Havis uses an extruded aluminum rail that has a closed bottom trough the entire length of the rail. The self taping screws cut into the sides of the slot. There are no holes like the Troy consoles and no way to get a back up nut under the slot.
 

PACNWDude

Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2012
Messages
765
Rebuild Havis Screw Holes with Alumaweld.

Alumalloy or alumaweld can be used. Aluminum screw holes often times get stripped. Use a low temp aluminum alloy welding rod to fill the hole and re-drill and tap. Then paint flat black. I have bought several surplus consoles that had this problem. After tapping, paint with krinkle finish black paint. Looks like new.
Yellow MAP gas and aluminum rod work for me.
 

wa1nic

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 28, 2012
Messages
263
Location
Westfield, Ma
Are we talking standard 10-32 rack mounting screws? If so, just drill them out to 1/4" and put some "rack Mounting Nuts" in their place (they clip on... search on google for "rack mounting nuts", "cage nuts", "rack mounting clips".

The nuts are hardened steel, and they float a bit, making up for any misalignment that might be present.

I always put a little bit of anti-seize on the screws to make them easier to remove in 10 years.

Rick
 
Last edited:

KC8ESL

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2008
Messages
535
Location
Painesville, Ohio
Use a "poor man's helicoil"!

Shove a zip tie in the hole and turn the 10-32 screw into place. Saved my hide several times. Just don't forget to cut off the excess on both sides or it looks bad.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top