HDSDR is confusing me, or am I just stupid?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sb101

Hi everyone

I’m new to the whole SDR thing and have recently dipped a toe into the SDR water by using an RTL SDR dongle (2832/R820T) and a NooElec HF upconverter. I’ve tried a few software packages including the popular SDR#, but I very much prefer HDSDR, which is the reason for my post here.

I’ve been using HDSDR for a couple of weeks but something is really confusing me about it, and I’ve spent almost 2 weeks searching online for an answer which I haven’t been able to find.

So, can some of the experts here tell me how I actually (correctly) tune the receiver using the digital displays in HDSDR? Do I use the LO display for the actual tuning, or the Tune display?

I noticed after using the program for a few days that some of the frequencies were off. Here’s an example – it’s quite difficult to explain but I hope I can explain it clearly enough to make sense. Apologies in advance if it’s a little long-winded, but it’s a little complicated to explain.

If I use the Frequency Manager to go to, say, the 19m broadcast band it will set the LO frequency to 15430 kHz and the Tune frequency display to 15450 kHz. If I then look at the waterfall and spectrum displays I can see, for example, the Radio Kuwait signal on 15540 kHz, but the scale below the spectrum window (and the numbers which come up beside the pointer) show it as 15535 kHz, which is wrong (-5 kHz). When I click on it to tune it in, the Tune frequency display also shows it as 15535 kHz.