• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Headless Spectras

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,561
Location
Texas
I probably have 12 or 14 high power spectra radios sitting in a storage shed. Mix of vhf and uhf but I don't have any heads. I'm just assuming that they are just for door stops without the heads...would that be a correct assumption?
 

jim202

Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2002
Messages
2,666
Location
New Orleans region
I probably have 12 or 14 high power spectra radios sitting in a storage shed. Mix of vhf and uhf but I don't have any heads. I'm just assuming that they are just for door stops without the heads...would that be a correct assumption?

Have you taken a look at the following site?

Batboard • Index page

You will be required to register on the site, but there is a ton of information there and many that will help with problems.
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,716
Location
So Cali
Doorstops... I hope not. We can use them out here.


FYI, there is a test connector that allows a Spectra to run without a control head. Just can not program a radio that uses a A9 head. We use the test connector to isolate problems.
 

brndnstffrd

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
257
Location
CT
Control heads are cheap and fairly common. If you dont want them, there are lots of people who would be interested, and maybe you could make a couple bucks over just tossing them in the dumpster.
 

zz0468

QRT
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
6,036
...I'm just assuming that they are just for door stops without the heads...would that be a correct assumption?
As stated, no, that would be an incorrect assumption. For certain applications, Spectras can be made to run just fine without a head. But if a head and cables are actually needed, that's what eBay is for. There is no shortage, real or perceived, of Motorola Spectra parts and accessories available on the 'net.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,561
Location
Texas
I actually found a lot of 8 A9 heads for $40 on ebay…just need some control cables and I'll be in business. How would you set them up for APRS without the head?
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,636
Location
Central Ontario
Guys, before it gets out of hand, a reminder that Buy, Trade and Sell cannot be conducted in the regular forums.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top