Hello Everyone! Newbie needs help and encouragement

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rmerks

So I am totally new to armature radio and am currently studying for my license. I bought a Baofeng 5rv2+ radio, hoping to at least listen in on emergency calls. But I am really struggling with how to program it and enter the frequencies. I have the standard antenna and a longer whip antenna. I live in a small very remote town, but we do have 1 repeater here. I have been doing so much reading that my mind is spinning and I am almost ready to give up on the whole thing.

Do I need to program in the repeater before I can listen in or is that just to transmit?
If I do need to program it in the how would I do that? Using fake number as ex. (888.46250)
The offset is -5.0 MHz but my radio does not have that frequency setting and I can't manually add it.
It also says it's DMR enabled if that means anything.

Again using a fake frequency as ex. (888.99000) For emergency services how do I enter that? Just drop the last 2 zeros?

I am so sorry for sounding so ignorant about this all, I'm not as savoy on things as a younger person would be.

Thank you in advance for any help you can give.

Rebecca

trentbob

W3BUX- Bucks County, PA
Premium Subscriber
Welcome Rebecca. Don't put the cart in front of the horse. Study for your test on your smartphone... ham radio prep.com it's a good site to use. Once you download it and pay a small fee, it's a great preparation for the technicians test. There are free sites also. Just search. You want to just keep taking practice exams over and over until you see the total pool of about 350 questions LOL.