• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Help appreciated for HT-1250 (Newbie)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hellsdiver

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2006
Messages
4
Hi to all, and thanks for being there, I'm a local EMT and just bought HT-1250, with programming cable, and software. thing is , never used this stuff, and don't know exactly what to do. Tring to find a site ht-1250 for dummies. Right now my main concern is to get a firmware and install it. Basicly, my question is where and how....

can someone help me please
Best regards,
thanks,
DL
 
Last edited:

motomeso

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
935
Location
Ontario
Local doesn't tell us where you are really so we can't say for sure if your radio will work on your local EMS system or not but................................

Most EMS if not all CACC's in Southern Ontario have switched to a Motorola Type II VHF Smartzone system which your HT1250 will not work with. Second is you will need permission from your local EMS before any radio shop would ever program that for you.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
10,924
Location
Central Ontario
Firmware is downloadable from the Motorola Online site but you have to sign up for it.

Not sure why you would need firmware though? Your HT1250 should have come with it. The only reason to change the firmware is for an upgrade.
 

motomeso

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
935
Location
Ontario
Not to mention you will need the HT / CDM flash adaptor to upgrade the radio firmware. I would suggest getting your local radio shop to do this for you as you can turn your radio into a expensive door stop if your not careful.

Are you looking to upgrade the firmware or just change the codeplug to add or change the frequencies that are programmed in?
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
10,924
Location
Central Ontario
Actually the flash adaptor really isn't a big deal. I believe it just toggles a line low to put the radio into flash mode.

A friend of mine has HT1250's and he said it was pretty simple to upgrade the firmware.
 

acosell

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2005
Messages
101
ve3nsv said:
Local doesn't tell us where you are really so we can't say for sure if your radio will work on your local EMS system or not but................................

Most EMS if not all CACC's in Southern Ontario have switched to a Motorola Type II VHF Smartzone system which your HT1250 will not work with. Second is you will need permission from your local EMS before any radio shop would ever program that for you.

Easy there killer, if he's a local EMT, then he ain't from Ontario.

What area are you from Hellsdiver?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top