• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

HELP High SWR

Status
Not open for further replies.

KC8FAS

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
87
Location
Moran, Michigan
I just hooked up a Cobra 29lx and a new solorcon A99. When I checked the swr it was 1.1 from channels 1 about 36 after that swr shot up to over 4. Any suggestions on how I can lower it.
 

rescue161

KE4FHH
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
3,172
Location
Hubert, NC
There are tuning rings on the A99 that you can adjust. If it is truly new, then it was preset at the factory for 11 meter operation. Do you have the A99 mounted low to the ground or close to any objects?
 

KC8FAS

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
87
Location
Moran, Michigan
I have the A99 mounted off the back porch railing on a pole. Its only about 5 feet off the ground and about 6 feet away from the house.
 

rescue161

KE4FHH
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
3,172
Location
Hubert, NC
I've seen good antennas perform horribly when mounted below or next to large objects, like a house. Try to elevate it more and see if the problem persists. Like I said, those rings are preset at the factory and messing with them will probably just result in making your problem worse.
 

Baskt_Case

Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
93
You said the SWR was 1.1 then shot up to 4.

Did you change anything at all between getting those two readings? Re-route the coax, move the radio somewhere else, hook up a ground wire, anything?

Usually when SWR changes drastically, something has changed.
 

KC8FAS

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
87
Location
Moran, Michigan
I had another 5 foot section of pole so I raised the antenna another 5 feet. Looks good swr 1.1 all the way 1-40... thanks for your help.
 

rescue161

KE4FHH
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
3,172
Location
Hubert, NC
Amazing how 5 feet can cause that much of a problem. Glad you got it going. I need to get mine back on the air!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top