• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

help me understand

Status
Not open for further replies.

kg4ere

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
81
Location
Tennessee
Ok stupid question time. I am trying to understand codeplugs. I have programmed Kenwoods, Icoms, Vertex radios before and their programming software is pretty straight forward. I am now dipping into the realm of /\/\. I am confusing myself on codeplugs. How do you make a codeplug?

For example I have an XTL 2500 that I would like to program with conventional frequencies and a trunked system. I have the Astro 25 CPS R20 software, but when I open it it is just blank. I have played around with it but am not seeing where to add any frequencies, offsets, trunking parameters, etc.

Now before anyone spouts off about having permission to get on a trunking system please know that I am simply using a hypothetical example here. I understand you must have permission and system keys and all that. I am simply trying to understand how to make a codeplug provided I had permissions and system keys.

I have searched around (including batlabs) but am still not getting the basic answer of how to start a codeplug. Is there software other then the CPS that does a basic codeplug? Do I have to read the radio I am wanting to program before I can make a codeplug? With conventional legacy radios I can have everything setup in the software before even getting the radio out of the box.

Thanks in advance
AW
 

GTR8000

NY/NJ Database Guy
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
9,725
Location
BEE00
Correct. The codeplug is simply the file that contains the radio's programming. A codeplug can exist either inside the radio or as a file on your computer, but it's the same thing. There is no "default" codeplug, as they are specific to each radio and contain information such as the serial #, the FLASHcode features, etc.

Once you read the radio and the codeplug loads into CPS, it will all become clear to you.
 

kg4ere

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
81
Location
Tennessee
I really appreciate everyones input. I was having a hard time wrapping my head around the whole codeplug thing.
 

12dbsinad

Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
1,259
You're overthinking the whole "codeplug" term if you are familiar with programming other brands. If you have programmed a Kenwood,Icom, etc, you have dealt with a codeplug. Though, the term is/was not used in many other brands besides Motorola. Think of it as calling software "CPS", or cloning software, or programming software, all means the same thing.
 

TampaTyron

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
866
Location
Tampa, FL
I was yelling at my monitor......."if he can do Kenwood, Icom, Vertex, etc....... then Moto is no different !!!!!" As you no doubt know, there is a lot of settings in the codeplug...... be careful. Save your original codeplugs, save them at each step. Stay away from trunking until you can learn from someone already doing it. Lots of radio system administrators use cloned radios as justification for additional security measures. TT
 

IAmSixNine

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,038
Location
Dallas, TX
I think part of the problem is that years ago Kenwood and Vertex would sell a radio with all matching features. So the software allowed you to create a blank codeplug based on the model.
With Motorola having different flash codes you cant really open up a blank one because there are so manyoptions in flashcodes.
I know with my MotoTrbo softtware it has blank codeplugs for the various models.
Then its up to me to purhcase the upgrades i want on a per radio basis.
 

kg4ere

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
81
Location
Tennessee
I think part of the problem is that years ago Kenwood and Vertex would sell a radio with all matching features. So the software allowed you to create a blank codeplug based on the model.
With Motorola having different flash codes you cant really open up a blank one because there are so manyoptions in flashcodes.
I know with my MotoTrbo softtware it has blank codeplugs for the various models.
Then its up to me to purhcase the upgrades i want on a per radio basis.
I think this is where I have been partially getting hung up. Codeplug sounds so much more mysterious and proprietary. You are correct, in the past you could have a "codeplug" for 100 Kenwood radios set up and saved before even touching the radio. Then it was as simple as cloning all of them.

I greatly appreciate all the input, I felt silly asking but have a much clearer understanding now. As I mentioned in my original post I am hypothetically in my mind playing around with programming a trunking system, I have no intentions (or permissions) at this point to try to get on anyones systems.

Now assuming I have purchased a radio with the correct Flash settings/options for a P25 trunking system. I would first "read" the radio to get the codeplug that is in the radio. I would then program my trunking parameters and "write" it back to the radio correct? I suppose the same holds true for analog?
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,893
Location
So Cali
"Code Plug" a semi slang name for the memory chip that had the radio's frequency information burned into it. It was a 16, 18 pin dual inline IC memory that back then was only a one time 'programmable' chip. And the fact that it had the radio's frequency information in it IE 'Code' and plugged into the radio, that became a "Code Plug".

Later terminology still uses that old semi slang to refer to the data that is loaded into the radio, usually by serial via RS232 or USB, as a "code Plug"..

So, a "code plug" is the data in the radio, the data stored in the software program's file(s), or the data that is presented on the screen for you to 'edit'.


The first rule is to READ the radio with the programming software and store that file in a safe place, AKA archive cp. Why? so you will have a copy of the original "Code Plug" AKA cp.

Then READ the radio and make your changes to the frequency data. Write that cp into your radio. Then you may also save that cp in the radio's software program.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top