Help needed with BCD436HP and Burlington County P25 Phase II (FIRE/EMS)

Status
Not open for further replies.

burckleyj

Folks,

I am new to the Uniden BCD436HP and having an issue with the Burlington County NJ P25 Phase II System. I’ve been looking through forums for days and am unable to pick up any transmissions from the system. Using Broadcastify on my phone I can hear things but not on the BCD436. I’ve used sentinel many times programming and ensuring the proper service types are selected. I even tried creating a band list but to no avail I’m still not picking up any transmissions. I bought a new Comet antenna thinking that was the issue and nothing. I can pick up all other departments and counties throughout NJ and my area of Mercer County. I am truly stumped… Any thoughts or suggestions are appreciated! Does anyone have a file or favorites list from their scanner I could import into Sentinel? -John

burckleyj

Mark,

I understand that you recommend those devices, but looking for help with the current one I own.

Thanks!

trentbob

W3BUX- Bucks County, PA
Premium Subscriber
So what is your location in Mercer County? You only have to have the north simulcast site turned on you can avoid the South simulcast site. What kind of comet antenna did you get? Depending on where you are situated around towers you might want a less efficient antenna. Maybe even a paperclip as opposed to a stronger antenna that will pick up more than one tower thereby causing simulcast distortion.

Some people have good results with the 436 and some don't depending on location with regard to various towers.

Once the new P2 system came in and police became encrypted I don't listen to Burlington anymore even though I'm right across the river from Burlington City.

So what location are you in Mercer County? Perhaps you are out of range?

trentbob

W3BUX- Bucks County, PA
Premium Subscriber