Help, no speech via repeater

KD9CYY

I've played with 20 and 40 meter (no repeater), but I'm new to handhelds and can't get anything but hash when trying to speak via a repeater.

In simplex mode, words are load and clear between my two handhelds.

My radio is a Yeasu FT60R, and setup for repeater is at 444.350 MHz, Shift +, Offest 5MHz, 100 Hz CTCSS
Repeater is about 18 miles away, and have tried as close as 7 miles.

When I PPT and say "KD9CYY check", the repeater responds with a bunch of tones (even at 18 miles) to both my handhelds.
When I PPT and say something else like "KD9CYY testing", the only thing that comes thru is HASH.

Have tried RxMod of FM, AM and Auto
Have tried SQLTYP of TONE and TSQL.
Have tried narrow and wide band.

What am I missing?
Much obliged for any insights.

ramal121

Lots and lots of watts
Premium Subscriber
Been covered before. 18 miles is a stretch for a handheld and even at 7 miles the repeater's signal is kinda weak. What happens is your transmit radio, when on, it's overpowering the receiver of the other. Yes, even though the frequency is different. This is called desense if you want to search for it. To overcome this, separate the two radios and I mean tens of feet maybe to reduce the transmit power to the receiver or get closer to the repeater to increase its signal to overcome the desense that's happening.

MTS2000des

5B2_BEE00 Czar
Not knowing the repeater status, it's hard to diagnose over the internet. Remember that amateur repeaters are privately owned, and owners may not have them working to "handheld friendly" spec meaning they may not be on high sites, have receivers with pre-amps, or be operational at the time one is wanting to use them. Best to contact the repeater owner/club via email/social media and confirm it's operational and maybe schedule a contact with a member/owner/user or find out if any nets are held on said repeater.