BCD325P2/BCD996P2: Help progamming BCD996P2

Durwood9687

Premium Subscriber
Hello,

I am in need of some help… scratch that, I’m in need of a lot of help programming my newly purchased Uniden BCD996P2 Scanner..

First let me say that I am a total and complete novice at this. This scanner is not your grandmothers scanner of yesteryear…. I had a Bearcat 210 back in the late 70’s and that was the last scanner I had. Not realizing the leaps and bounds these receivers have gone through technically since then I got a wild hair and decided to purchase this Uniden….OMG, you have to be a NASA certified astronaut to program it. I admit, I did try to program it. I got the FreeSCAN software and downloaded the files from RadioReferecnce.com for my county, then uploaded them to the 996P2 scanner, and I see them in the display but I don’t hear squat, nada, nothing, zilch.. I know, I know, RTFM….. I have read the manual.. and that left me even more confused.

So here I am… pleading my case before you, respectfully asking for help from the experts. This is sort of embarrassing to admit I can't do it. If someone does take pity on me and sends instructions on what I need to do, please do it in baby steps... Like, step 1, do this, step 2 do that, and please explain what each step is for, what it does… I want to learn about what Trunking is, and whatis involved in this trunking stuff… talks groups, ID’s everything.. I’m very confused and need help.

I live in Culpeper, Va, Culpeper County. I went to RadioReference.com and downloaded the Culpeper County Trunked Systems file for Fauquier/Culpeper/Rappahannock counties Project 25 Phase II. And then uploaded that to my scanner… But I don’t hear anything. I listened for hours.. nothing. I know I must be doing something wrong.. in the FreeSCAN app, after downloading the file I don’t change any of the parameters:

Pic1.png

Questions:

What is Project 25 Phase II?

In the FreeSCAN App, what is [MOT2]?

What is [MP25]?